Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-06-18 - 4:57 p.m.

Father�s Day 2002

Credit goes to my sister for the idea, but my sister, brother, and I pitched in together and bought my dad a digital camcorder. Yeah, it was a pricey gift, but the fact is he has always been there for us and this August we�ll be seeing both grandmothers. My mother�s mother (she never let my mom call her mom) is coming out early August. I might avoid dying my hair blue, but I�m not bleaching the black out of my hair or cutting it for her.

She has some good traits, but many of her opinions are just flat out wrong � I�m talking about racism and sexism in particular. There is a point where you can agree to disagree, but those are two issues that really I can�t just sit there and be happy thinking, �Hey, I disagree with you.� To hold the opinion that women or people of color (her word) aren�t mentally or physically capable of the same tasks as a white male is just utterly stupid. I would say ignorant, but I don�t think it is a lack of knowledge that has led her to be this way. She simply is a product of a different time and day.

I just don�t know how to handle her. She is a supportive person, but she also deep down wants everybody to be exactly like her.

We�ll see my dad�s mother when my family flies to Indiana for my youngest cousin�s wedding. Indiana, woo hoo. Wait, please let me put more emotion into that. Indiana, WHOOOOP! Er, OK that is wrong. So wrong.

I like hanging with my dad�s grandmother. Oh she has some incorrect ideas too (same problem actually), but the difference is that she knows she has some racist opinions and sexist opinions. She knows it is a product of her upbringing and is so discrete about these things that you�d only know if you are family. And she�d never say something if she felt it would hurt somebody�s feelings.

I also like her because last year when I was there with blue hair she just told everybody to chill out. She never said she liked it, but she told other family members that their haircuts were just as bad and literally said, "Grow up and deal with it."

Anyway, the camcorder was bought to get pictures of them both while they are still in good health. What remains to be seen is if I will be. The drive down and back just about killed me. Apparently long drives are what hurt me, even though when I was at my folk�s for a day I did soak in the spa � spa Mmmmmmm.

LISTENING TO: Pain Station Dead is Dead

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul