Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-06-17 - 1:01 p.m.

Return to Clubs

It seems that the healthier I get the busier my weeks and weekends become. While it is nice to see more of the world than just my apartment, I still have so much to do.

Friday night I joined Newwave and Redwood at club Velocity in Sacramento. I promised myself I wouldn�t dance � yeah, I know I didn�t believe myself either. Actually I hardly danced at all. Though I did get up for Wumpscut�s Wreath of Barbs. I�m sorry, I like the song and it is so incredibly easy to dance to that it really wasn�t like dancing. It is still going to be months before I can dance to anything remotely industrial. I guess that means I�m gonna be stuck as a goth boi for the next 3-4 months. Oh well, I get way more girl attention when I dress goth boi instead of rivetkid. In San Francisco a few girls started calling me the young Gary Oldman. Eventually it caught on, but I don�t put that much weight into it, since I have two other active nicknames people tend to use down there (one of which is [insert real name]maus � as in mouse).

Newwave isn�t much of a dancer, so while Redwood was bouncing between our table and the floor he and I talked. We brought our RIVET games (think BINGO based on top 40 g/i material), and the funny thing is that the game worked. It was amazing! I was one square away from winning on two separate boards. And if I got in earlier I may have even won.

Anytime one of my songs was played I�d let out a huge "Whoooooop!", I think this may have been the alcohol speaking. Actually probably not, I just wanted to have fun.

Geek Boi Trap

To the guys who think girls don�t flirt, pay attention: at least three women were flirting with Redwood, Newwave, and myself (or at least one of us). The first girl we affectionately call DeathRay Girl. Hold on, Death Rays to rivetheads are like chocolate is to most other people. Yummy. DeathRay Girl got her name from the night that she literally bored holes in Redwoods chest after he gave Cricket a backrub. I�m now convinced she collects or is curious about rivetheads. She dances to industrial and some synthpop music, but even when the dance floor was empty she came up and danced right in front of us. I had my back to 90% of the dance floor and still had a great view of her � yeah, she was dancing next to our table.

The second set of girls brought a chess board in and were playing. Nothing wrong with that, except that as I watched they really didn�t play. They just talked and looked around at guys and then pretended to focus on the board. One guy went over and played with them after a while. I�m guessing he knew them already, but I think that the game was as much about entertainment as it was an easy conversation piece or ice breaker.

That rocks actually. The hardest thing I have in meeting women is finding something to say other than �Nice Boots�. OK, I actually introduced myself to Cricket that way, but thankfully we had talked briefly about music before.

The third girl just outright came up to me and then apologized. Apparently from a distance she thought I was somebody else. But instead of just walking away, she held out her hand and introduced herself. Of course I quickly introduced myself (not needing the prompt "What is your name?" that I used to need when a cute girl would talk to me). Nothing came of it, but Redwood leaned over to remind me that this was the second time this girl had done this with me. I totally forgot about the first time, but the way she waited for me to say more, I totally think she was trying to basically say, "Hi".

Instead of being shy or a jerk, I�ll make a point to say hi next time I see her.

So in the course of one night, I danced to one song, stayed up late and survived, and at least felt like I was back home in the clubs. I�m not much of a voyeur, so I hope I can dance soon. But it will still be to slower songs and as a goth boi.

HEALTH UPDATE: I survived the night and it didn�t stress my body that much by Saturday. But it was only the start of a busy weekend, and right now I am feeling some pain.

LISTENING TO: X Marks the Pedwalk Human Desolation

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul