Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-06-24 - 1:06 p.m.

Returning to the Dancefloor

So Friday night I returned to club Velocity with Redwood. Newwave didn�t join us. It was nice. Though I spent most of the night seated and either talking to Redwood or watching people dance I had a blast. I did dance again. DJ VSX played Wumpscut�s Wreath of Barbs. There are only a few dozen or so slower electro songs that I�ll dance to know. In fact, I�m actually a bit afraid of dancing for two reasons.

First, I don�t want the pain to come back. Second, I�m not sure if I can remember everything I used to do. I�m afraid of looking like a clutz. And to think I�ve always encouraged others to go out there no matter what. It isn�t that I consider myself graceful, but I do feel as if my dancing always has a sense of confidence and energy that made it worth my while to go out and dance. But now � I just wasn�t sure.

Anyway, I did dance to the song and ended up dancing to some chick spoken word industrial song that I have no idea what it was and some new local material (didn�t know what this song was either, but the floor was empty and the song kicked ass). The end result is I over did it. I�m in more pain than I�ve been in a few weeks, but if I take it easy for a few more days I�ll be OK.

Last night that meant watching The Right Stuff, a good reason to stay seated for 3 hours. I forgot just how good a film that is. It isn�t everybody�s thing, but I liked it. What is funny is that in 1983 I had no idea that the astronauts were screwing around. That went totally over my head. This time I caught so much more of the film.

Friday I got a postcard from Cricket! I�m tempted to share bits of it here, but I need to contact her and tell her how that made my day! I love getting just little things like that. It is sad, but I remember when Minmei would do that too. I bag on Minmei frequently, but looking back, there are things like odd puzzles sent in the mail that really did mean that somewhere she felt something for me. It is possible she sent that stuff to everybody, but I know that isn�t the case. That part of my life is over, but I still wonder about it. In fact last night I had nightmares about the two of us. It is funny, but I�ve never had any sexual dreams about her. The truth is I didn�t relate to her well on those terms, but even her family was in my dream. It was last night that I realized that I liked most of her friends and all of her family.

Owwww, I just wish I wasn�t so sore from dancing. I�m not sure if I will return this weekend or not. A few people in the Bay Area have been asking about me, but there are a few girls at Velocity that continue to flirt a bit my way. The thing about flirting when you know nothing is gonna happen is that ultimately it is fun. Does this make me a tease?

LISTENING TO: Birmingham 6 Resurrection

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul