Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-05-20 - 2:03 p.m.

Wet Rat

NOTE: This is my second entry today.

Morning: Lite drizzle. And silly silly me makes a comment that he has never seen a real rainstorm out here. In Texas it would come down so hard and fast that they didn�t bother putting grates on the storm sewer intakes, they just assumed that any kid stupid enough to be in a gutter five seconds after getting a mild splash of water shouldn�t be breeding anyways. As cruel as it sounds, more than once a month I remember watching rescue crews on the news try to fish out a very dead kid body from a drainage ditch.

Was I any smarter? No. I would play in construction sites and drainage ditches, and did so in the rain as well. But I would never actually go in the water, and the storm sewers only ate little kids, not 10-year old boys out on the weekly turtle hunt.

I miss real rain �

I picked the wrong day to go out for pizza. For about a month I could only walk to lunch within my building, so naturally I got sick of eating in the department�s caf� (the one with the clone brothers). But my choices of lunch places is still limited to Hungarian, one Delhi, and a Pizza place. I think that about covers it.

So of course, I was treated to my first flash flood in California! Thunder/Lightening, 5-15 mm hail (nothing compared to the hail stones from Central Texas, but still welcomed). God, I�m glad that I had the foresight this morning to bring along my peacoat and my hat. So instead of sitting here being soaked to the bone, only my socks and jeans from the knee down got caught.

It is a shame that I can�t run, �cause when the hail started pelting me, it took me a few minutes to get under cover and just wait it out. But OTOH, there really is something nice about having the time to just sit and realize that compared to mother nature, my ability to impact people is nil. I just sat under a building overhang for about 15 minutes waiting for the storm to lighten up enough so I could return to work.

And here I am now. Barefoot (my monitor is heating my socks), and wishing I could take my wet pants off too. Damn people and their hang-ups about clothing! Fortunately I do have boxers on � maybe I should. *Snicker*

LISTENING TO: Pain Station Cold

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul