Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-05-08 - 2:09 p.m.

Another What Do I Do?

I know I�m terrible about reading everybody�s back entries, and I also realize that my opinion on my job changes. Yesterday I was supposed to be on a plane to Europe to visit Cricket, but my health is still not well enough that I could enjoy the trip. I can sit in a bathtub and get lectured by an American cat. Not that I have anything against Dutch or German cats, but I certainly wouldn�t understand the �Pinky, play with me know. Get out of that horrible puddle of water. You�ll get your sad excuse for fur wet!� Heaven forbid that I can�t understand what a cat is saying.

Monday Stompy informed me that her boss (who is cool) gave his notice. That means that things are going to be kinda up in the air in a few months, as the search for a new head of our research group begins. This guy, my boss�s boss, taught me a lot about environmental engineering and technical writing. He is probably one of the most careful and skilled writers I�ve ever met (including people whom are not engineers, but true honest to blood writers). He is just that good.

My job includes running environmental studies and writing huge (70+ page reports) on my results, but I�m also in charge of editing technical development papers (research papers) from the rest of our staff (half of whom have their Ph.D.s). Though my diary doesn�t reflect it, I actually am a skilled technical writer. (It is very different just shooting thoughts out on the fly � yes, I do work from outlines and encourage others to as well.)

Getting to the Point

Though I�m still in pain (which is why the cat is stressing me out more, she has no clue how much peace I need � none, this is why I like older animals, they can sense pain and generally respond by giving an injured animal more space) I like my job. For the past month I�ve been doing nothing but writing at work. I�ll continue this for another month. And my co-workers all have different styles and some of them hate writing (it shows in what they give me). Some of my own papers and many of the papers I�ve edited are available on-line (but I�m not about to link them here � if you are curious, I will email some of you so you can nose around). =)

There are days that I�m so not your typical design and build engineer. And I�m no field engineer. Hell, if I were in Starfleet, I�d be more like some sort of science officer instead of an engineer. Yay, that means I�d wear blue!

LISTENING TO: In Strict Confidence Angels, Anger, Overkill

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul