Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-03-27 - 10:11 a.m.

Trip to the ER

The pain was unbelievable this weekend. Dying the eggs was fun, but having to drive left me in a state of constant pain (8-9 on a scale of 1-10) for about 24 hours. I was trying to lie down and do nothing, but the pain just wouldn't go away.

I could take my narcotic (the codeine) but the last time I did that it knocked me out until it wore off 12 hours later and then the pain shocked my system. It felt much worse. Drugs have down sides.

Anyway, I tried to rough it out, but was having chills, couldn't really move, was crying. I phoned Kaiser. Imagine this, you call while crying, and they are extremely quick to help. That is good, and they helped. I was trying to just see my local doctor, 'cause I can't live another month in pain like this. My urologist is to see me in the end of April. But if the pain would go away, they can take my testicle.

While waiting for the critical care message to be returned my boss called. I was is so much pain that all I could tell her was to get Cloud over here fast. He was by in 30 minutes, helped me get dressed, and I went to the ER.

Maybe moving, maybe trying to focus on another person helps, but the pain went from a 10 (when I called) to a 7 while in the ER. I'm now taking indomethacin to reduce the swelling inside my epididmis, but the pain is less with this medication.

I can't believe I'm going to have to live a month like this, but if this doesn't stop soon, I will start calling Kaiser about elective surgery. Apparently my mom was reading up on my condition and found that I have the male equivalent of when women have their tubes and ovaries twisted interally. Apparently that also is incredibly painful.

A Family Not Meant to Reproduce

My dad's sister and her daughter (my cousin) both had this problem. Apparently my family genetically has similar medical problems. It is sad too, because generally my dad's side of the family is hardy (though short lived).

I am OK today.

LISTENING TO: the Cure Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul