Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-02-23 - 10:25 p.m.

Primary Election Class

I feel terrible. I have a cold, and my legs and groin (as in testicles) are sore. I think it has to do with stress. Last night while at a concert there was a pit (as in mosh pit) that formed. I didn't join it, but it was the first time that I actually saw rivetheads pit dancing. I thought it was cool, but many of the rivetkid girls didn't like it at all.

I would understand that if they were opposed to violence, but that isn't it at all. They just didn't want to get hit while standing up close to the stage to listen to the show. I understand that part of it, but what I don't understand is this attitude they seem to have that they have a right to stand up close at ever show. Most shows, guys are kind enough to let smaller guys (like me) and most all women up front. Oh well � I'll never figure out women.

Wednesday I attended a county class on how to be a poll worker. I've worked two other CA statewide elections before down near my folk's county, but now that I've changed my legal address to Yolo County, I decided to volunteer for the California Primary election in March.

I'd like to spend some time writing about what an election is like in California, only because I grew up in Texas - where the government did not go out of its way to encourage younger voters. California is the opposite, and there are 6 statewide propositions on the ballot. Two of them directly are related to elections, and that in and of itself is important.

But I think too many American's don't understand that voting is important. American's will bitch about their government, but few of them actively take part in it. That is why working as a volunteer for the elections is so important to me.

The Class

The idea behind the class is to prepare all of the workers, like myself, for anything that may happen. It was only two hours long, but having worked before, I think the County Clerk covered everything that I remember being confusing. I wish I had taken the class before working last time.

I was surprised to see a little goth boy and rivet girl sitting in the back of the class. I'm guessing they are university students, but it is about time that rivet/gothy people do something more than sit around drinking, fucking, or dancing. There was some photographer taking lots of pictures of them, and I am guessing that they were from some student organization.

Well � I'm still feeling crappy, and though nothing hit me in the balls, that old injury acts up when stressed. =( I'd like to write more but I'm about to spend a week at a conference. I'll try to write away from the computer and put back entires in this diary.

LISTENING TO: Das Zeichen Aufgewacht

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul