Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-01-08 - 4:16 p.m.

Clones Can�t Do Math

You get what you pay for. And there is a reason why the kids working at fast food joints and convenience stores don�t wait on you hand and foot � they are hardly paid.

For about a year I�ve been going upstairs in the morning to the only restaurant in my government building to get a chocolate milk and sometimes an orange juice for breakfast. The restaurant pays rent to who ever owns the building and is supposed to keep us G-people happy. And it did, for a long time.

Around Thanksgiving they hired some kid who charged me $0.15 extra every day for several days. At first I assumed the price went up, but the women who also work the register didn�t charge me extra. Then one day I asked him about the fact that they no longer were carrying orange juice. He told me it was out there. It was not, I checked several times.

The final straw came when he charged me $5 for a $2 burrito. Screw that, I simply refused to buy anything from them when that kid was working the register (largely because he was pretty damn rude about the orange juice thing and was evasive about the price of chocolate milk).

I still walk up the stairs with my friends / co-workers every morning, but if the kid is working the register, I walk back down to my desk empty handed.

The Clone

Today I saw that not one, but two of these kids was working upstairs. Worst thing, they are twin brothers. I wonder if one of them is the evil �I can�t do simple math� twin and the other the �I know the price of chocolate milk� twin.

No matter what I decided that if I ever make people, that my clones will be able to do simple math. You can�t have a race of chocolate milk serving slaves who can�t do math.

LISTENING TO: Forma Tadre Navigator

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul