Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-10-25 - 5:02 p.m.

Headhunters and Interviews

Yesterday afternoon I got a call from the water district I interviewed with back in June. June ... it is like another life time ago. I'm glad I've kept entries in my diary, because I don't remember much else from back then, except for work.

It is really flattering to have a firm you interviewed with calling you to check up on you and see if you are still interested in a position with them. More so, because they don't yet have the position. In July they talked about creating a new position just for me, but warned that they'd have to find the money. Now the story is that there may be some internal reorganizations and a position may open up.

This would get me into the Bay Area. But I'm half sad too. I'd be closer to my family and friends there, but further away from my friends up here. I'd also have to loose my relaxed appearance (currently I have two-tone hair: longer A-line styled black on top, natural auburn shaved close to my skull). But I'd be paid more.

Why Guys Shouldn't Wear Boxers

Random thought that was bugging the hell out of me today. I've got an overly healthy sexual drive. Today I made the mistake of wearing boxers instead of my normal bikini briefs ... and wouldn't you know it that I was inflicted with random hard-ons. :/ It actually sucks, because my Polish blood means I don't have anything to fear about "size matters". I wish I was lying too, then I'd fit in more underwear or wouldn't look like a pervert when I walk around.

Most high school boys will understand what I'm talking about. Well, I'm nearly 30 (on paper), but my body still thinks I'm 18. feh. I've always been massive supicious of my birthcertificate anyways ... it wasn't issued until 1995 anyways. Seriously.

Breadwinner

So while walking around the office today I was carrying a clipboard in front of me. I do have modest. But I was focusing on a conversation I had with my mom last night. My brother is in danger of loosing his job. My mom's is uncertain. My sister is just temping. And my dad started interviewing because his office has been laying off people right and left.

He interviewed up in Seattle. I don't want them to move, but it could easily turn into my engineering degree having to support them all for a short while.

I never wanted to be an engineer. Though my talent is limited, my hands are more of an artist (violinist or painter ... two hobbies I once had). Normally I have an extremely steady hand, but lately my body has been shaking because it is so upset. I know I shouldn't let things I can't control bother me, but when I get upset I shake and get cold. Spring has seen me this way before and understands what I'm like.

It was so nice in these uncertain times to get that call last night. If I had to support my family, I'd rather only have a 30 minute drive instead of an hour plus.

LISTENING TO: Funker Vogt's Gunman Single

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul