Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-10-24 - 4:12 p.m.

Embryodead: Spooking Conservatives

Many people ask me why I consider myself a goth. There are all sorts of reasons. I totally think there are all sorts of great answers / reasons for anybody to consider themselves goth. In fact, I generally don't like "gothness" tests, except for of course their entertainment value. But something I appreciate about many people whom consider themselves goth, is that many of them are quiet outspoken about politics and social issues.

Like many rivet-goths I tend to wear industrial / EBM band t-shirts, and one of my favorite shirts would be :Wumpscut:'s Embryodead t. Obviously it is named after the album. Is there a social or political message of the album? Not a major one, other than, your typical industrial "Think for yourself."

After rushing Alexandra to her train (we nearly missed it -- imagine Amtrak actually arriving and departing ahead of schedule!) a woman approached me and introduced herself as Nancy (real name -- I have no problem using real names for pushy Xtians whom want to condemn me).

Nancy: "Hello, what is your name?"
Me: "[Contour]." <-- I used my real name, I don't have a goth name.
Nancy: "[Contour], are you aware there is a cross on your shirt."
Me: "Yes."
Nancy: "[Contour], are you a Christian?"
Me: "Ah, no." <-- though I am baptized
Nancy: "[Contour], do you have any religion?"
Me: "Not really."
Nancy: "Have a good day [Contour]."

Thankfully it ended there. She took the hint and left me alone.

What I wanted to say is just how relieved I am that she didn't press the issue. I don't like people trying to convert others to their belief. If I'm curious about a religion, I'm going to ask.

It is very possible that she was in fact offended by my t-shirt. The Embryodead shirt has an "Et" (Embryo-Cross) on the front and the picture of an embryo on the back. Easily I could be pegged as being Pro-Choice. I am. Or better stated, as a guy I don't believe I have any right to say, which by default makes me Pro-Choice.

There is a part of me that really does want to challenge people to think for themselves or at least be open minded. Perhaps the shirt is too much, but I don't think so. It certainly isn't targeting any individual, but it does bug me that many conservatives bring violence to abortion clinics.

LISTENING TO: Delerium's Karma

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul