Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-09-10 - 9:14 a.m.

Cloves and Ferrets: Ren Faire

Cricket still has to turn in her PhD thesis with the corrections made by her committee members. Some of them sound like real assholes, because they didn't give her their corrections until last week. She asked via email months ago, but they figured she could just spend a few weeks in the US (not working for pay) doing their bidding again.

Remind me when I talk about going back to school to get my PhD that I shouldn't (unless I have a rich sugarmomma providing for me). ;)

Since Cricket will talk to me (and naturally I'll talk to Cricket) when we are together, I asked Redwood if I could join him, Kat, and Princess to go to the Ren Faire in Vacaville.

First Time

It was my first time to a Ren Faire, and it was pretty neat. My favorite thing was watching the jousting! Damn those horses are what I'd call real horses. They kick butt and foam at the mouthes. They were pretty mean too. They'd charge the other knights horse and had a sort of fire in their eyes.

Redwood, Kat, and Princess went in costume. I dressed up in my BDUs, sailors duty shirt, and Corcorans. Part of this was because this outfit limits sun exposure to my ears and the back of my neck. Fortunately I really didn't get a sunburn. :)

Another reason I dressed like this (besides the fact that I wear BDUs nearly anytime I'm not at work) is I wanted to test out my gear for my big trip to Europe next spring. I'll be visiting Cricket (hopefully with Redwood ... I've always wanted to go to Europe with my best friend) and plan to go to a 4-day music festival. If figure I'll dress hella comfortable.

Goth Kid Spotted

So while walking around (which is pretty much all we did most of the day) we passed a comedy routine. This Ren Faire guy cried out, "Hey Goth Kid, why don't you come and join us." I looked, and sure enough the guy was pointing straight to me. :p

OK, I give him points for recognizing I'm a goth. But I'm no kid. :p

But it was Faire, so I waved politely. That encouraged it more. "I promise we'll talk all about smoking cloves and pet ferrets." The audience and even myself nearly fell down laughing with that. Um, I kinda ran away after that, as I could see myself sitting there and the entire show becoming a string of running goth jokes.

Best Knees

So Redwood wore a kilt, had a Scottish accent, and went "regimental". There was a best knees contest, and actually he was one of the best looking men in a kilt. Unfortunately, Redwood was too modest to actually flirt and flash the female judges (which is necessary to winning).

It was funny. Redwood is cute in that "I'm a dense boy" kinda way, because he must have had at least 30 compliaments from random women throughout the day. Women would cry out, "Now there goes a fine pair of knees under that kilt, Aye!" "Yes, I'm talking about you, yee green haired man!" He'd just keep walking, but they'd continue, "Are yee regimental under yer kilt man?" They loved him, they truely did.

Shit, Redwood actually is incredibly hot in a kilt. I know so many women would would pour all over him. I just wished he would have heard some of the compliaments streaming forth.

LISTENING TO: the Cure

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul