Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-09-08 - 4:23 p.m.

Learning to Flirt

Congratulations Cricket!

She did it! =) She passed her oral exit exam and felt she did quite well. Though we all knew she would. Some girls just need to listen to their friends more. ;)

So when I got home from work yesterday, Cricket and I finished the leftover cold pizza and got ready to go to Sanctuary. We got there pretty early, but within minutes of arriving Redwood drove up. So the three of us ran in together.

Cricket spent the first 15 minutes or so talking to everybody she hasn't seen in over 8 months, while Redwood and I danced.

Last night was also the first time I put on black lipstick and white face in about 8 months. Something about Cricket just makes me want to dress up for her. If I had had the time, I would have shaved my legs and worn a skirt. :)

Needless to say we had a blast. Some songs Redwood and I would dance to. Some songs Cricket and Redwood would dance too. Occasionally all three of us were on the floor. I don't know a single goth who dances more than either Redwood or Cricket (I want their energy). *snicker*

Red Dress

Sanctuary is the club where I met Cricket, so it holds a special place to me. In fact, I care about it more than any other club (presently). All three of us are under the impression that the finest goth / industrial dancers are in Sacto. Oh, I hate Sacto, but the kids up here can dance circles around some of the best of most other cities.

OK, so I've only been to goth clubs in Sacto, Seattle, and the SF Bay Area. Still, I like how people dance here.

It always wasn't the case, but about a year ago a DJ from SF's Deathguild came up here and revived the club. In fact, she improved upon Deathguild (which is another fine club).

Late in the night a woman in a red dress, stompy boots, and a corset entered the club with a group of friends. Several things about this girl had me swooning. I had "goth girl crush" so bad that Cricket and Redwood picked up on the fact that I was almost totally staring at her.

I didn't want to creep her out, so I tried to avoid eye contact.

Earlier in the night Cricket mentioned that we met not when I first asked her about her boots, but sometime before that she asked me about a band. She said the reason she wanted to talk to me was because of my smile.

Value of a Smile

I didn't think about this ever before, but this is actually one of the same things I look for in friends. A little smile goes a long way (Cricket naturally has the cuttest smile there is).

So much later in the night when I was seated and the woman in the red dress was dancing, she chanced to look my direction (actually we were both looking in each other's directions most of the night) and caught me making eye contact. Instead of being an uber goth, I smiled.

Eye Contact = Flirting

Not always, but last night after that first smile, I noticed that when I went up on the dance floor (the red dress girl was dancing most of the night, she could put most people to shame too) that she would come real close to me. OK, maybe it was just chance. I decided to move away some. She followed pretty much. I got off the dance floor and stood on the opposite side of the room. She moved that way. I later danced and moved to another side. So did she.

Duh. I'm dense. That is why I keep Cricket and Redwood around (to think for me). They half noticed it too.

Anyways, by this time I was certain she certainly wasn't scared of me, so the next time on the dance floor I made eye contact while dancing. She smiled this time. I was too. :)

According to Cricket I rarely make eye contact with people on the dance floor. The truth is I'm pretty shy.

Once the Red Dress Girl started looking at me I noticed she was not shy about dancing around me. OK, anybody who knows me, knows that currently when I dance I bounce around and travel a lot. I take up lots of space. I was impressed and shocked that this girl was covering almost as much distance, but was going in and around me. It was fun, but my shyness also kicked in and my heart raced. I think under my white makeup I was blushing. And naturally my tummy had that "embarassed" feeling ... "I'm sick in my tummy" feeling.

Near the end of the night they played a wonderful set of old school gothic and alternative music and I thought the Red Dress Girl had left the club with her friends. OK, I was tired and so was Cricket. Depeche Mode's "Shake the Diease" starts playing, which is among my favorite Depeche Mode songs. It is late, I dance, but I also sing while dancing.

I swing around to twirl as my "Spider Sense" starts tingling. Normally on the dance floor I'm incredible about seeing behind my back. You get a feel for who is behind you, and I realize somebody is right there. Once I was fully turned around, I looked and saw tall black boots and a red dress. It took me another 2 seconds to realize that she came back inside for "Shake the Diease" too.

We made eye contact one last time and she giggled slightly when she realized I was singing the lyrics. You can tell by somebody's eyes when they think something is cute or not. I am pretty sure I qualified as cute last night.

It is too bad I didn't get a chance to meet her. In fact, I was hoping to ask her how she did her makeup. It was fantastic and I wanted her to give me her makeup secrets. I want her eyeliner!!!!

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul