Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-08-21 - 9:04 a.m.

Violent Dreams

It probably isn't a good idea to watch a Dirty Harry movie right before going to sleep. Correction: It most certainly is not a good a idea to watch a Dirty Harry movie any time before trying to go to sleep.

I wasn't watching the film because I appreciate violence or even Clint Eastwood. In fact, I don't like either at all. However, Jim Carrey and Liam Neson (sp?) were both in the film. Liam of course is an actor I've always respected ever since seeing Schindler's List years ago. It helps that he also happens to be Qui-Gon to me. :)

Now the Dirty Harry movie I watched, wasn't nearly as violent as his earlier films. And it was easily the stupidest of the Dirty Harry movie's I've watched ... well, maybe I've not see all of the other ones, and the ones I did see were years ago.

But it was enough to keep me tossing and turning last night from 11 PM until 2 AM. When I finally did fall asleep I was plagued with violent dreams.

Evil Cousin Dream

So in one of my dreams I was visiting my evil cousins. I was a kid (which is true of many of my dreams) and my cousins were beating me. So I and a few kid friends decided to float up to their neighbor's house.

On the roof of this house I ended up playing with some toy cars while listening to the domestic violence occuring in the master bedroom below us. At first it just sounded like a couple having a loud disagreement. I hate loud arguements and yelling. I hate them a lot, and my anxiety about this showed clearly in my dream.

But it continued for so long that I leaned over the roof and started watching the couple fight. It wasn't just a normal fight. The husband was raping his wife.

Now the disturbing part was in my dream I felt as if I should do something, but instead I just watched. I don't know why I did this, and it bugs me.

The husband ended up killing his wife, while I watched the entire time. Doing nothing.

Then he feed her body to his ugly dog. And the dog ate her!

I knew something was wrong, so I floated to the ground and pleaded with the adults (my parents and my aunt and uncle) to call the police to have their neighbor arrested for murder. When the police showed up, somehow they didn't take the dog as evidence.

So it was up to me to carry a man eating ugly dog to the police for evidence. Nobody would help me, but then the dog started to eat me and everybody else. I had to resort to kicking the dog in the face. :(

What I don't like about this is I don't think it is right to abuse animals. Even though it was in self defense, I was upset that there wasn't a big box that we couldn't just lock this man eating dog into. It also bugged me that my family and friend just sat by while the dog tried to bite everybody.

OK, it was just a dream, but it still makes me wonder what the point of it was.

My next dream was also violent, but it was about me being hunted. I was some Prince-General person and was in some enemy country. While there I had to rescue a bunch of hot, mostly naked, women who turned out to be pretty damn good terrorists / guerilla experts. Together we had to fight our way to my country using tree branches as clubs and the occasional gun we'd steal from some evil goon.

At one point a bunch of goons with guns were chasing our group, so I told the naked amazons to go one way, and stressed that the goons were more interested in killing me and most of them would follow me. Our group split off, except for one amazon who liked me or something. The two of us ran along this suburbia fence line, while most of the goons did follow us.

They eventually had us surrounded in some maze I accidently entered, when I turned around the corner and saw a bunch of Imperial SnowTroopers straight from Star Wars ready to kill us. Then one of the troopers recongized me and said that they were sent to save me. They ran past me, dispatched the evil goons, and oddly enough the dream had a pretty happy ending as me and my amazon friend went back to my country.

Weird, yup. I'm pretty sure that the second dream was just about my desire to run along with a mostly naked hot chick who could kick my ass. ;) But the first one kinda bugs me. That and I felt it would be interesting for me to reread it months from now.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul