Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-07-17 - 4:03 p.m.

Santa Cruz

Well months ago I started saving up my vacation, first to go to Europe (which hasn't happened yet) and later to spend quality time with Spring (and that didn't happen either, despite my invites), so when Shells invited me down to her place in Santa Cruz, I jumped at the chance to get out of the office. Monday was a particularly good day to do so. An error in a file that I helped to work on appeared. Naturally everybody else responsible for the file didn't say anything, so I'll fix it up tomorrow. It shouldn't be a big deal, but it always depresses me by how little most people care about things (be it their work or other things) unless it directly affects them.

The whole "me, me, me, me" attitude just never has sat comfortably with me. Taking a vacation to get away from that helped.

Basically I left work early and drove through rush hour traffic in San Jose (not incredibly fun) to race up and down CA Highway 17. Redwood first took me to Santa Cruz at night back in Feburary, but this was my first day time trip. There is something so cool about the fog rolling over the Santa Cruz mountains in July. It also made the small city pretty cold last night.

Once I made it to Shell's house (which rocks, even if she has something like 11 other roommates) I rested while she finished her homework. We then went for dinner, which always is a task with her, 'cause she is a Vegan and can only eat certain places. NOTE TO SELF: make sure my next girlfriend actually likes McDonalds. *snicker*

After dinner we went to the main street, Pacific Ave I think, and there she took me to a kinky store. The front basically had sexy underwear for women and men! Yup men stuff. Whooop! Over a year ago somebody promised to take me to the gay men's shops in SF for underwear, but we never found the time. So the minute I saw decent sexy underwear I got me a pair. I'll probably wear it to the next Bound I go to.

Shells aparently has been thinking about getting a dildo and strap-on harness. I showed her the dildo's like Springs, and she almost got a red one, but then found a black and red one that she fell in love with (and naturally later loved). ;)

With toys for her (including a harness) and underwear for me, we walked back to her house and got ready to visit the local goth club. Actually Santa Cruz's goth club is in a great venue and the people are very friendly. Obviously the small town atmosphere has a lot to do with this.

The music was mostly top 40 goth / industrial, which I have mixed feelings about. I too am shy about dancing to totally new stuff, but some songs I'm just tired of hearing every week. Naturally it depends on the club, and I've found clubs with resident DJs tend to play the same thing over and over. DJs who rotate around tend to be a hell of a lot more experimental about risking what they play.

I really think it should be the other way around. Resident DJs have a home, why not try to avoid playing Kathy's Song (which I absolutely hate) two weeks in a row. Seriously, how about picking something else Apop if you absolutely must play Apop. Or even better, find somebody who sounds similar and play them after some other song by Apop that isn't Kathy's Song and maybe the crowd will hear the connection.

Redwood has this theory about resteraunts: if they have the word "good" or "yummy" in their name, then they are trying to make you believe their food is good. Why not let the customer decide if the food is good or not.

So I was teasing Shells that a song with the name "song" in it, obviously is an attempt to convince listeners that we are in fact listening to a "song" instead of whatever else might be played to music. ;) OK, I was really just teasing her. She loves Kathy's Song, and that is fine. In fact, that is one of the great things about our relationship, we can disagree about things and she doesn't make me feel guilty about it. In fact she likes it!

Imagine that! :)

Now I've finally found somebody who is les tolerant of alcohol than I am, and actually hornier too! I like this woman! :) She takes what she likes, will tell you when she is mad with you (which has come up once or twice), but also tells you when she is pleased with you (she dishes out so many compliaments) and finally ... she will apologize when she makes mistakes or causes problems.

For example, last Friday we picked up this goth boy (whom we both now agree is an asshole) but he gave us bad directions to his place. I kinda knew where we were going and ended up three times going the exact opposite direction of where she told me to be. OK, bad on my part, but I got us directly there and didn't get lost. Seriously, I do know how to get around places. Once we got there I got a big kiss, hug, and apology for what she said while I was ignoring her. Several times I told her I was certain her directions were wrong (basically they directed us to drive into the San Fransisco Bay and were coming from a guy who doesn't own a car in this state ... always a bad sign).

After dancing all night, we went back to her place and fooled around. Hehehehe, I used her new toy on her! >:) I love fucking, but using a dildo is just as fun. Basically you lose a hand, but I got creative.

Shells had class this morning, so I hit the Cambell Rasputin's where I found a CD I've been looking for for the past year and then came back to Davis. I plan on taking the rest of the afternoon easy, but I'm feeling very relaxed today.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul