Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-05-27 - 12:22 p.m.

End of Ages

Clubs come and go, but normally people stay in your life. The past couple months I've noticed that some of those near me and just others that I'm used to seeing while out are all pulling away.

Last night at Shrine, a woman who has been a fixture at Bay Area goth clubs came out for her last night before moving with her new husband (whom I am guessing is a real catch, this woman has class) to England came by to say her farewell. Another club friend (and no I don't like the word, but people who only talk to me while at clubs unfortunately get put into this category ... and some people I didn't formally think as such really are just as fair weather) is moving to Chicago. So Friday at the fetish club and last night at Shrine was her last night too.

Two weeks ago a couple from the East Bay had their last night before moving to Seattle. And countless others just don't show up anymore.

It is sad to see the place so empty. Granted I got in some terrific dancing and got to see Solitary Experiments (a band I'll talk about below). And I did have plenty of friends who were there. But still, the ending of Shrine reads like the last half of Tolkein's "Return of the King". The fellowship of friends of Shrine are all slowly going off, one by one. Some of them are leaving the Bay Area. Others just aren't a part of my life (and I'm sad about that).

Redwood surprised me by showing up last night. He did dance more than me, but that is because I was also trying to catch up with some people that I rarely get to see these days. And Alexandra (who I also hanged out with and went Super Soaker shopping with yesterday) was there. They both are fun to be with and so incredibly easy (even when glum), but I recognized they both weren't incredibly happy. Basically they each have their own stories, so I'll let them tell their own stories. I just wish I could have cheered them up more.

Solitary Experiments

Fortunately the EBM act that came all the way from Berlin, seemed to please them both. Shrine was pittifully small, and fewer people than were at the last show I saw at that venue were there. In fact, many of the people that came were there for the woman's going away.

So Solitary Experiments ... they put on an OK show, but I did like their sound. I found myself dancing most of the time, and before I left I noticed that my ears were ringing.

I'm a Star Wars geek, and while I appreciate them lifting and using a clip from the Empire Strikes Back, their execution of the sample was poor in my opinion. Did it distract from the song? Not while live. Did it leave a silly impression. Unfortunately.

But it had a side effect too. For some reason I already really appreciated that these guys and their label Maschinenwelt were on tour all the way from Germany. And the fact that they put something that I consider cool, and yet that everybody knows is geeky, means that they have a spirit of independence that I value in people.

There stage presence was fine. They seemed professional, not too serious, but certainly friendly. In fact, I bought their Paradox album on my way out and gave them all a wave. I'm sure they thought, "huh, that was one of the eight San Fransiscans that actually watched our show". I'll listen to the album later (along with the purchases I made yesterday while with Alexandra).

It is funny to know that when they turns the lights off at Shrine, that I'll be there. Somebody commented about how I seem to have so many friends. In a sense she is right, but in a sense I don't. I certainly have friends, but many of them I don't see or are people I met through people, and when I tend to drift away from one person, I hear less of the others. It kinda makes me sad, but I also realize that it takes two to maintain any sort of relationship, including friendships. Hmmm, maybe next week I'll send out some "how are you" emails. :)

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul