Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-05-20 - 4:28 p.m.

Black Head

So my favorite blue hair is now but a memory (and collection of photos spread here and there). Friday night I was supposed to go to a live noise show with Spring, but I was held up at work, and both of us were kinda hungry. So hungry that we weren't through eating til our friend playing at the show would have already finished. Instead we just went dancing and hooked up with Redwood.

One of the DJs on Friday night was one of the resident DJs from S.F.'s Deathguild. We talked to him and had a great time, however, lately I've been so sleepy. I'm sure it is part over working, part depression (I'm still confused and getting mixed signals about something), and probably also due to the extreme heat we have been having out here. More rolling black outs ahead!

When Spring and I returned to my place, we basically crashed. I wanted to talk some, but I suspect I was about as exhausted as she. The difference being she falls asleep, I just talk incoherently. What sucked is at one point in the middle of the night I stopped breathing again. Sleep apena. It sucks. Imagine going to bed every night and not being sure if you'll wake up.

Around 6 AM I thought I was screaming for Spring to wake up and my body was thrashing about, but it is hard to tell what is real and just what is imaginary. I ended up falling out of my bed and got some water. She looked tired, so I tried to be very quiet, but I didn't sleep well the rest of the night.

Saturday morning Spring dyed my hair for that presentation I may go to on Thursday. Since I needed to look "professional" (whatever that means), we tried black. First she used a black dye that she mixed with a developer on her own. I think it worked mostly good. Accidently we missed a few spots, so we tried again using the Lady Clairol Level 1 "Natural Black" that I bought Thursday. That stuff is junk. It only covers damaged hair and I forgot to shampoo before the second dye job, but I already had a heavy conditioner level in my hair. Nothing took over the few red spots showing through my black. :/

I'm pretty sure that without Spring's help, that the Lady Clairol stuff would not have worked at all.

What sucks is that in order to be an environmental engineer I can't have blue hair. At least not at my current job. I have displayed a talent and interest in making public presentations.

The problem is I doubt this black will come out. Blah! I don't like black nearly as much as blue. Funny, but true.

Mage Knight

Ah, but before I forget I've got to talk about a game Redwood and I both have started playing: Mage Knight. Imagine Magic the Gathering cards but simplified and turned into a game with plastic 3-D fantasy figures. You buy sealed boxes with random fantasy army men and then build forces to attack your opponents.

The great thing about the game is you can play it on a floor or outside. Basically you just need a few feet of mostly clean area. Then you start tossing "terrain" down. On Thursday Redwood and I took turns placing castle lego walls and tree houses in the middle of our battle field.

I'm not really a gamer, as I'm much more interested in collecting these little figures. Some of them are actually pretty cool, ghosts, wraiths, skeletons, half naked amazon women, and soon to come out mounted knights. I really don't have much of a stragetic mind, because every game I play I tend to loose. OK, so some times I throw games when I'm playing people who are stinker butts and won't play any games.

But I'm pretty easily distracted too. Instead of picking powerful units that are good to play with, I pick my armies on things that I'd like to look like. Come on, wouldn't it be cool to have no real body, but be a hooded cloak with ghostly white hands coming out of it? Unfortunately some of the spookier looking game pieces just aren't as powerful in the game. I end up usually having an army of lots of neat looking creatures and some decent formations, but not tactical advantages.

I'm no Sailor

I guess this just means the US Navy should stop sending me all those recruitment letters. It is funny, because I'm getting pretty old for the US Government to still want me to join its Nuclear Submarine or Civil Engineering programs. And yet, once every three months I get a recruitment letter. I've even written back to them explaining that I've graduated twice, have a job, and I'm too old for them. They just don't care.

Well, going back to cleaning my apartment again ...

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul