Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-04-28 - 1:59 p.m.

Sci-Fi isn't just for Geeks

I took Friday off from work, which may turn out to be a mistake, as I found out this morning that I'm leaving Thursday, not Friday for Chicago. I have to get a second day of vacation approved, which I hate to do, but it must be done. This also means I'll be away from work / home longer.

Looking at it, I have this weekend free, but the rest of my May will be spent cleaning, gone, or with Cricket.

Contact

I'm not one for watching movies. Generally I don't like to watch TV or films, as it seems like a passive form of entertainment. But the problem is I end up missing out on some really good films. This weekend I caught up on "Contact".

I swear now having watched the film that there is a sample from it in one of din_fiv's songs. I was always wondering the source of the sample.

And what a great film. Everybody I knew told me I would love this film, and I did. Actually it seemed incredibly long.

I actually enjoyed Matthew McConaughey's character, and was a bit disappointed that we didn't see more of him. But I also understand his character was not that central to the story line. I found it interested that Ellie never called Palmer, after he left his number.

Palmer and Ellie's relationship gave me something more to think about on the subject of love.

Again, I'd like to say more, but I don't want to surprise anything.

The funny thing about Jodie Foster the actress, she is looks exactly like an older version of a girl I knew at Texas A&M. One of the few interesting people, but one I was always too shy to actually talk to.

Engineer-Dar

Last night I went to Assimilate. I finally got the owner a mix CD of songs I like. While his set last night showed that he is returning to mixing on the fly (a talent that is becoming more and more rare with DJs), his set list was dismally uniform. He played lots of Funker Vogt, VNV Nation, and Front 242. I'm glad he brought back Front 242 into his mixes. Hell, I've been asking him to play more Funker Vogt, VNV Nation, and Front 242 for a year. I actually felt very spoiled and swear sometimes he plays some of these songs for me.

Master Hit by Front 242 very nearly killed me.

Several surprises helped a lot last night too. First, when I came in Musicia came running to me, gave me a big hug and apologized for snubbing me at the concert. I was going to ask her about that, but she beat me to the punch. As she explained, she just is so spread thin at shows like that and doesn't know why she puts them on for us. She needs a few more big hugs, because I don't know why she puts on those shows. Or she needs to ask for Mixer's help. And she needs to maybe get more reliable staff. Dimple and Mixer are about the only two people she has that are very reliable. Everybody else like myself are there some times, not others.

Next surprise, Mixer. He got there late, and I had a very hard time even looking at him, so he tracked me down and wanted to talk. Basically he apologized for everything and more importantly asked what he should do to help me feel better. I told him I didn't know. He laughed and said that that wasn't the answer he wanted and just feels so helpless and kinda bad. I told him that just expressing that to me helps a great deal and that for some time just a lot of space and understanding will really see me through this. That he was OK with.

Later in the night I just could not get him to hush. That guy can talk!

The owner of the club actually went as far as to tell some girl to come up and hit on me. She did a terrible job. Probably because she didn't want to, but still it was nice for him to start tossing women my way. Even though she really was so not my type ... I still say I like dancers.

With that, there was an incredibly cute girl dressed in silver with glow-in-the-dark green sticks in her hands who I noticed the night before at the Covenant show. At the concert she had a long blue extension in her hair. Anyway, I thought she was looking a lot at me at the show and I found her watching me on the dancefloor.

But lots of people watch me on the dancefloor. The DJ was spinning music I live by, so naturally I can dance and do it well to his sets.

Actually I very nearly got kicked out during Funker Vogt's F-117. If you've heard the song, the club owner has his own mix of the song that is incredible. I couldn't resist just stomping, and apparently people were worried I was going to bust through the floor (it is old and weak at Assimilate).

Anyway, the Cyber-Girl was dancing up a storm too. Dance she was hot and fucking knew how to dance. Cute girls should not wear boots, silver dresses, carry toys, and dance to music I like. I was swooning, so I ran back to Musicia and Mixer for advice.

I wanted to talk to her, but it is so hard to approach strangers. Anyway, with a bit of coaching from Mixer and Musicia I went and talked to her.

She actually was very friendly and polite. It turns out that she is an Electrical Engineer gone programmer just like Mixer!

What is up with me? Cricket, Mixer, and Cyber-Girl all are EEs. I just have this uncanny thing about being attracted and finding it easier to talk to engineers. I'm not a text book engineer, but then again, Cricket and Mixer aren't either. Far from it in both cases.

So I talked through maybe 3-4 songs to Cyber-Girl. Got her name, and when she was leaving for the night went up again and asked her if maybe I would see her again at Shrine. I'm hoping she shows up. If not, oh well.

Right now I really would like the attention, but part of me suspects she won't show up. Not because of me, but I figure she just goes out some times.

She certainly was interesting. It turns out that for years she had long green hair, but when she started working this year, she let it go natural (I'm not sure how long the natural from dyed transition was, as her hair was long). Funny thing is I hate long hair. :p But I am a sucker for blue hair, and that is what she had at the Covenant show. We did talk about hair colouring and it sounds like she wants to again.

I peg her as being very polite, but also as shy as I am. In fact, she seemed really eager to talk. It certainly would be cool to see her again.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul