Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-04-27 - 9:45 a.m.

And One / Covenant

I left work early yesterday (i.e. before 6 PM) and drove down to Alexandra's. There I met Redwood and the three of us went to Denny's to stock up on fuel for the show.

The show was at the Maritime Hall, upstairs though. This was my first time to ever be upstairs, which was really an experience for me.

When I first got there I walked in and was amazed at out big it was inside. It was pretty empty at 8:30 PM, for a 9 PM show. And it was fucking cold!

I ran into the Davis Rivetkids and talked to them. They are just so cool. Last weekend I was invited to hang out at their noise party, but instead went to the Dreams of the Fall show because my exgirlfriend said she wanted me there. I made the wrong choice.

They told me they had a blast, and a few San Francisco noise fans were up there playing too. Next time I am hanging out with them. In fact, I am trying to talk a few of them to join Redwood, Grover, Alexandra, and myself at the Depeche Mode concert on Aug. 1 in Sacto.

A Strange Comment

Actually there were several nice gestures last night. First, Bounce came by and handed me a flier for her club and kept pushing me towards pretty women and saying, "She is hot, go flier her." "She is shiney, go flier her." "Now go talk to that girl." The problem is they all either had dates or looked about as friendly as a corpse. But I appreciate that Bounce suddenly developed an interest in getting me to talk to women.

Some people claim they have a hard time talking to people. I'm one of them. At the end of Covenant's show I had ended up dancing with one girl and the two of us just stood there not knowing what to say to each other. Now I'm not holding my friends responsible nor bitter, but when they walked over, she got scared and then ran away. :( It sucks too, she was a real cuttie and could fucking dance (I like girls that dance and know how to do it well ... it just is something I find attractive).

The second weird thing that happened was when the promoter of the show walked by. I gave him a half hug, because he was on the run and promised to give him a CD I burned for him. He thanked me and said that he wanted to introduce me to a girl and then added "She is cute too." I don't know what to think about that. I don't know why he would take a sudden interest in my romantic life, or why he wouldn't keep women to himself.

Somebody was trash talking him not long ago, but I don't understand why. He has always been incredibly nice to me. Now I might not know what to think about him introducing me to women, but it can't be a bad thing. Afterall, he knows lots of people and it is much easier to talk to somebody when you've been introduced. I just won't hold up my expectations. Sometimes he does get stoned and forgets things ... but for some reason he seems to recognize me. I suspect it is because I am usually one of the regulars who dances to his sets.

So right before the band started I went over to hang out with the East Bay Rivetkids, who were standing right next to the Davis Rivetkids. It is funny, but I'm not really a part of either group, but both groups of friends hang out with me, give me plenty of hugs, and some of them like to dance with me. Hehehe, in fact, Spike (East Bay Rivet Kid) wanted to _slow_ dance with me after the show. He is weird, but like me he is only comfortable with some people. It helps that we both really like the same music. In fact, the other East Bay Rivets didn't like And One nearly as much as Spike, Redwood, and I.

And One

I'm sure if you talk to different people, they felt different things about And One's performance. I had a hard time actually seeing them, because just like at the VNV show, a slim tall gothic girl squeezed her way in front of me while I was dancing. When I'm crowded and dance I either jump up and down or I look at the floor and rivet dance. Looking down put my head right at her breast. I felt kinda like a pervert, because my mouth kept smacking her breast!

OK, I was not moving, except when the tall guy behind me would politely shove me into an opening. But this girl kept moving into my space as well. Anyway, it was obvious I was dancing and not trying to lick her breast (though it looked like one of the best breasts I've seen, and only part of it was covered). ;)

Obviously I was into Metalhammer, Technoman, and Deustchmachinery. And One bounced around a hell of a lot, and I think had some fucking incredible stage presence. I danced hard to every one of their songs.

Covenant

My mouth didn't have to worry about accidently licking an unfamiliar breast for Covenant, as those two girls left. I did walk around and talk to about a dozen people from the city scene. Then I wandered back to Alexandra. There we waited for maybe 30 minutes watching the smoke machines on stage work.

Finally Covenant came on. God they put on a great show. But they were so much taller than I thought. I felt the same way about the Church. "Big" musicians. Hmmmm. I always picture people to be my sized.

The crowd for Covenant was different. And One obviously appealed more to women, or at least that was who pushed forward for them. Covenant had me surrounded by tons of tall guys. Ironically Redwood went to the back were he could dance more (and later when I saw him I could tell he had a blast and danced non stop).

Naturally many of the folks in the hall knew Covenant's club hits, and that was most of their set. Dead Stars brought everybody into a crazy, but to be honest that song kinda hurts me now. I'll always remember it as Spring's song, and it just isn't something that I feel good about. She has left me and whenever I hear Dead Stars I remember how she used to love it.

One wacked out drug kid climbed up on stage and divided into the audience. Everybody moved asside and he slammed the floor. I was honestly hoping he would have had the wind knocked out of him and just crawled away. Nobody wanted that.

One of the local drug pushers (nice guy actually) accidently tripped during one song and slammed into my back. It was funny, because I swung around and just waved. He thought I was going to be pissed, but that shit happens at concerts, and when you know the guy it is not a problem. One of Alexandra's friends had some guy pick a fight with him during the show.

I don't know why, but I'm always one person away from a fight. The fight didn't last long, as the East Bay Rivets just pushed him all the way out of the crowd and yelled at him to leave. The East Bay Rivets are great at breaking fights ... it helps that the second smallest of them could snap me in a second. Spike is easily their smallest member, then ironically I rank as East Bay kid number two (even though I'm not a kid and not East Bay).

3 encores!

I can't believe it. I expected them to just come out twice. After the second encore tons of people left. Fools! But we had three.

Now overall, I think then VNV show of last September was better. But this show And One and Covenant were both a hell of a lot better than Apoptygma Berzerk. It could be that I like VNV a lot more. It could be that I was neverous that I'd run into Spring. She sent me two emails earlier in the week. One to ask me what the character was I did in my last photoshoot for her, and the other ... frankly it read like she just wanted to hurt me again and piss me off. I understand she is angry and mad that she is claiming "I am running away." But she doesn't understand that I really did love her and walking away from somebody you love is not easy and not running away. I'll talk about her later.

I did unfortunately run into her on my way out. And it is sad that now Musicia won't talk to him. Spike told me that a certain Replacement was complaining about me to him. And he talks a lot more to Musicia, so I don't know why, but when I went to say goodnight to me, she totally ignored me. :( It really hurts that some of my friends are there for me, and others are giving me the cold shoulder. I don't want to divide up friends. And not everybody is doing that, BunnyStomp ran into me. I wanted to give her a hug. :) She has been really cool. But Spring was right behind her. It just hurt too much to bring up my eyes and look at her. I now that Wingtip was there with her, and Spring can't understand how much easier it is to be with your boyfriend when an ex passes by.

I didn't want her to not be at the show, I just didn't want to see her there. She loves And One, as well as Dead Stars. Heh, the first time she was naked in my apartment and when I fingered her there was while I had Thermin playing. She probably doesn't know this, but that song kinda hurt too.

I just need to learn to not associate music with moments or become more private and keep some music (maybe the Church) to myself.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul