Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-03-18 - 19:32:51

All is well.

I'm at Spring's and currently she is cutting Redwood's hair. Yesterday Redwood and I left his place in search of a lab coat for him. He is working on creating a mad scientist custom for Halloween and more importantly Spring's final project in her colour photography class.

We never found the coat, so once we got to her house yesterday, he dressed up as Weird Al instead. I had to run across the street and talk to Spring's neighbors to borrow an accordian for Redwood to play while taking the photos. Her neighbors were actually extremely friendly ... I just introduced myself as Spring's friend with the Black Mustang.

For my photo shoot (same assignment) I dressed as the seedy Jedi. Actually I fancied myself as a male version of Mara Jade. Hey, I can pretend to be a male version of a female character! It helps that Mara is a strong willed character. I'm comfortable with this, as I almost went as Switch from the Matrix for Halloween in 2000, and I've had dreams were I was Susan Ivanova.

Whooops, looks like they are almost finished with the hair cut. I'll steal time to finish typing. :)

So after the photo shoot the three of us stayed at Spring's for her mom's big St. Patties Day party. Twas cool. Her mom is big into being Irish.

This is something I never understand. Why do Americans pretend they aren't? I'm a mutt, most people probably are. And I don't understand why your genetics determine the group you associate with. That is yet another reason I like the goth scene. It is a self identified subculture. Unforunately most folks are white, but not all. But you can label yourself a goth and not have to have some blood relation to whatever the first goth's were.

And your Holiday ... make up your own -or- do as most and just celebrate Halloween 24/7.

So after a few beers we headed to Shrine. Spring gave excellent directions to Redwood and we got there quickly. Unfortunately the DJ at Shrine last night let other people spin too and they SUCKED. OK, mostly just this one asshole, but he was snubbing people and playing a mix of techno and metal, true black metal. I spent only around 1/4 of the night dancing, and had to go through the normal rounds of "Hi ..." and catching up. People we all touching my hair and saying how nice it was. It isn't like they've not seen it before! I think they just forget after a while. And then a few people were telling me I look like Malcom McDowell from A Clockwork Orange. I've never seen the film, so I guess I have to now.

I did talk to Musica some. It is hard 'cause she is pinned behind the booth and I know so many people there, that people seemed a bit annoyed that I was spending a lot of time back there with her.

The guitarist from Dreams of the Fall was there. I like him. He said he was bored, so showed up. Really nice guy, and he talked a lot more than normal. He said he was getting used to Spring and me. Probably more her, but I can be very social when I feel like it.

The sucky part of Shrine besides a bad set ... the drinks are hella expensive, they are weak, and the bathrooms are worse than port-a-cans. In fact, they should do just that. Rent port-a-cans and put them in the smoking area. At least they'd get cleaned from time to time.

I've never complained about Shrine's bathrooms before. I am today.

Shrine has really gone downhill. A few people like Mixer and Musica are in total denial about this. "Oh, but the attendance is better than it has been in months!" Nice, but it is still empty. Redwood and Spring would make better bartenders, and the owner isn't aware of anything.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul