Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-03-15 - 18:48:54

Sometimes I feel like I'm being nibbled to death by ducks.

Yesterday, do to changes in our version of Java, most of our scripts (programs) stopped working. Somehow without realizing it, my job has gone from being an environmental modeler to being an environmental Yoda or tech support. In two days, I've had 5 other engineers hounding me with technical model questions. Some of the questions are elementry and I really need to encourage my management to allow Bronco to finish the instruction mannual and then let me teach people how to use our model.

Their questions range from basic, to why did you do that?, to god if I know. On top of that I had that talk with Stompy about me taking on too much work in the next few months.

I'd be worried about burnout, but for some reason I'm not. I don't care right now. I want something to keep me busy. I have plenty of down time on the weekends and I'll use it now doing fun outside stuff. :) The weather is nice, and I'm tired of sitting around, and yet if I work harder inside, I figure I can play even harder.

Oh yeah before I forget. Lightening does strike twice. ;) I tried right and left. I really tried hard right. I'm a lefty.

Right now I have a trial simulation running, so I'm working.

Something that bugs me: people who aren't in the goth scene telling me what it is about and who is in it. Today at lunch we went to this English pub. On Fridays there is a wizard there, so I refuse to go. I don't trust his magic. :p

Anyway, today there was a little dark raver girl and Television (co-work) started saying that most goths look like her. One, she really wasn't a goth. Two, although the high school and undergrad goths have lots of free time and are the most visible, they really aren't the majority. I've run into plenty of 40-50 year old goths. You don't see them when you don't consider yourself one, but the funny thing is goth women really respond very favorably to my hair. They'll talk to me instead of other people in malls.

I didn't appreciate Television acting like an expert on something he wasn't involved in. So what if your girlfriend several years ago went clubbing and wore dark clothing. Just because you dress up in mostly black and go to a few clubs, doesn't make you a goth. And if you dress in orange and don't club, you are not automatically going to have your gothic person card taken away.

Little dark raver girls might be nice to look at. Hell, anybody wearing a nice pair of pants is fun to watch. But it has been my experience that the scene is not univerisally young. Mix in the heavy drug use ... I mean, there are only a few people who I think look physically younger than myself. I could name them, but the list is small. Very.

Anyway, Natasha called me to days ago. She wants me to have dinner with her on her birthday. Last year they went to some fish place. I'll tell her no fish, and if that is the plan, I'd be happy to just meet another night.

Her friends were just too mundane for me. Polite, but ... well ... yeah, I didn't understand them. One of her friends is a Bondage A-Go-Go regular. Again, some people consider that a goth club. But I've met few people who go there that I really consider gothic.

Then again, this is coming from a guy who collects little skeletons and ghosts and wraiths. A guy who has arguements with his kid brother about how his legions of undead can wipe out his brother's hordes of minotaurs and monsters.

Mmmm, and don't get me started about women with wings on their backs. :9

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul