Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-03-11 - 20:01:08

The Good Part:

Friday night I drove from Davis down to San Jose, making it in record time: about 2:15. I flew down the interestate.

The ocassion was Halo's birthday. People only get these once a year, and I think it is important to be there for your friends when you know they just need support. Most of her friends, many of whom I never met were there! :)

I'll repeat a compliament I offered her earlier. I believe that you can judge a person by the people they choose to be with. If you hang with somebody who is friendly and kind to others, that says something about how you'd like to be and are. But if you hang out with somebody who flakes all the time, that also says something about you.

Halo's friends were great. That and other things have sort of changed in my mind my plan to move to the East Bay or SF and focus more on the South Bay (also the home of Redwood). The more I think about it, the more nice people I've met there ... unlike people from the city itself who tend to be a bit more selfish.

It is funny, the East Bay had a community spirit, but so does the South Bay. The difference is that the South Bay crowd seem to listen to the people are are less concerned with posturing and appearances.

For Halo's birthday dinner we all met at a resteraunt called Bippos. I think. Anyway, it was an italian place where you all share tons of food. It was worth double what I paid for.

Bats also bought this cool wine. Normally I hate wine, but Bats is another guy I'd like to hang out more with.

I was all depressed and pissed off before going, but these two really made my night. I'll have to talk one of them to letting me crash there so we can spend more time together.

Bad part: well, they are friends I met through Spring, and I'm afraid she'll not be happy if I'm spending more time with them.

So I crashed at my folks and spent Saturday there. Mistake. I'm starting my break and I realized I was there with my dad. It wasn't til yesterday that it truely sunk in how much Spring reminds me of him at times. That is both good and bad. My dad gets things done, but you can tell he was in the military. He is blunt and hates to admit when he is wrong. The sensitive parent (whom I like to believe I take after) is my mom. My grandparents always told me I reminded them of my mother. I've known this deep down inside too.

I did do 2 productive things at my folks: (1) wash and clean my car, and (2) play this video game called Age of Empires II that my brother bought. It is kinda like War Craft ... very fun.

More Bad News: the "service engine soon" light came on for my car on my way home. That means no trips to the Bay Area until I get one of my two cars fixed. That is OK though, asside from wanting to visit the South Bay again or go to Death Guild, I really don't want to go back to the Bay Area for a little while.

Yeah, I'm still pissed, because even when I say my feelings are hurt, that isn't good enough. Somebody instead has to talk to other people to see if I should be upset or not. Where is the respect for me and my feelings? Why ask somebody else? If somebody close to me ever starts crying or saying I upset them, I apologize. Nothing else matters.

I just don't understand how people put so much stock into always being "right" and how it seems like "I'm sorry" is a very hard thing to say. If you listen and watch, these people do find other ways to say it. My part of growing up has been to focus on these things.

But still, I am very literal and something deceptively simple as those two words just avoid a lot of future hurt.

MUSIC: So I've been in a Love & Rockets, Depeche Mode, and the Church kind of mood this weekend. Right now I'm listening to "Remote Luxury". But I'd kill for a copy of "Senance". One of the most interesting things I own is a live studio recording of Steve Kilby and Marty Wilson-Piper that has "Shadow Cabinet" on it.

I need to see if the boys from down under will be coming into SF soon.

*Looking outside* Gawd is it nice outside today. It sucks that Grover is down in the Bay Area. I'd love to hang with her just in a park. Romantic ... maybe. Lazy, hell yes. But I do remember some of the best times I had with Cricket involved a lot of doing nothing more than talking outside in a field somewhere or other. Hehehe, and there was the time I kidnapped Cricket to the corn maze.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul