Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-01-16 - 14:04:50

Well, I should be downstairs attending a "public" workshop where some of my co-workers model is being released. The reason I'm not there is I'd much rather slowly nurse my own model through a few more simulations. I am investigating to see if changing the Sac River flow will impact the time of low and high tides at a critical location. I want to be very sure before I come to my conclusion (which seems to be there is only a couple of a minute change).

The workshop has happened twice before. Frankly it is boring. The first time was kinda intersting, but I don't understand how people think it is interesting in the slightest way to learn about a computer program without being at a computer and actually using it. Great, it can tell you how to release water ... nice, but why don't you let me play with it???

I mistrust anything you aren't allowed to tweak with yourself. Workshops that are nothing more than advertisements and lectures suck. Why don't people realize this?

I try to avoid this myself, but it is admitedly hard to do.

The second time I saw this same presentation, it was ... well, the same. I learned nothing new.

So today I'm telling my bosses that my cough would be distracting and I don't want to get my co-workers or the public sick. Nothing worse than a blue (now purple) haired boi making a distraction during an already boring workshop where nobody works.

This weekend: (1) went out with Sparky, (2) cleaned my folks house, (3) went to a new (to me) club: Requeium, & (4) fixed my brother's CD-ROM.

(1) Sparky. It was OK. But it was not NYE when we were making out. My theory about becoming more and more unattractive or every girl's friend is true. Neither Grover or Sparky is showing any physical interest in me (ditto for other women too). I just need to talk a lot less. It seems that women either want huge manly looking sex toys or "friends". I'm sorry, I've not had sex in such a long time, that I'm full up on friends. What can I say, but that I'm disappointed. I try and try, but I've decided it is probably better to be like all those other guys and just whine and cry, "But I can't talk to women." I want to say too bad, but frankly, their complaints and not trying seems to get them more sympathy.

I really just need a one night stand. A true one.

Bleah, I just feel incredibly unattractive. Why is it no girl ever follows through on making out with me? And why is it I have to show an interest first?

(2) My folks are pack rats. It is so bad in their house that you can barely move around. Anyway, I found some more models to sell on ebay, threw away some clothes and other things. And I organized their house for them. I'm afraid of their garage, as it is literally packed with useless junk. Their yard needs help in a few places, namely my old car hood is still there. They refuse to throw it away! I keep telling them to tell me and I'll take a day of vacation and do it myself. They really can't afford for me to work, because they are kinda lazy and need me to do the yardwork, trash, recycling, computer stuff, and organizing. Bleah. This is what I don't want to become.

(3) Requeium (sp?). OK, I got to this dot of a bar on Van Ness around 9:30 PM. I lucked into a parking space on Van Ness. It was a complete accident and very lucky. Parking around this part of the city really sucks. The club is tiny and it was filled with a bunch of wannta be rivet boys who were overweight and drank Corona Light. There is nothing wrong with either. But these rivets had very normal hair cuts, drank very yuppie beer, and well ... they looked just like my sisters friends _and_ acted like them. They got up and all did the classic pee-pee dance, along with their girl-friends to swirlier stuff, but didn't dance to the EBM that eventually came on.

That is OK too. But sometimes when somebody wears stompie boots, you expect them to dance stompie. They didn't! They danced to the swirly "you need to wear a skirt" sets and yet, I have this feeling they were all afraid of looking "gay". Bah!

It sounds bad, but the thought "weekend goths" did seriously come to mind.

Eventually Spring and Wingtip showed up. Spring surprised me by pouncing on me while dancing. OK, she didn't tackle me, but she can. HINT. ;)

Oh, about dancing ... I came dressed in dress shoes, vest, and a silk shirt, expecting the club to be very swirly and deathrock. It turned out to be another EBM Apop dominated place. OK, I'm begining to really hate Apop. I know and love tons of people that love Apop. But they are overplayed and they aren't even high-energy crunch or EBM. Apop is a well crafted blend of EBM and swirly goth, which is where most of the appeal is, but Apop isn't even representative of EBM. You say you like EBM, then dance to :W:, old Front 242, Funker Vogt, or most of the newer wave stuff pouring out of Germany right now. Just Apop is kinda like slow EBM or EBM light. Again OK, but they played 4 Apop songs while I was listening ...

I _hate_ it when a club plays more than 3 songs by similar artists in a 3 hour block. But club R did. :(

There was a band called "Push" there. Er, I went outside and smoked with Bats. He is always great to sneak a drag from. I actually like smoking. I never thought I would. Too bad I made a rule I can't smoke alone. But at least I'll have smoking buddies.

Grover and Latex showed up. So did Halo and BunnyStomp! :) As much as the dancing space was too small, with way too much smoke, and dominated by pop-EBM, there is nothing that is better than being with a group of friends and taking over a club. Grover, Latex, and Spring just would not get off the dance floor. I danced for about 1 hour before they showed up. BTW: WARNING: if you are wearing a charm on a neckless, keep your mouth closed while you dance. Metal skeleton heads in the teeth hurt! :(

That gang is the best. And by the end of the night I had a fucking great time! :) Which should mean something since I was and am still very sick. :/ I'll hang with them anytime and we need to do more together.

After a while, Grover, Latex, and BunnyStomp and I went to Mel's Dinner for ice cream and the "onion thing". Hey, that is literally what I ordered. "Do you still make that onion thing?" Yes sir, we'll get you your "onion thing". Yummy.

And Latex, well he is super cool. The more I talk to him, the more I like him. He is intelligent, principled, and very good humoured! He started giving me all sorts of ideas on bondage equipment. With his ideas and my drive to make the stuff I can have more toys!

Hehehe, so I went home with a kiss from Halo (she can kiss me anyday!) and a huge bear hug from Latex. Oh, and a gift from BunnyStomp. hehehe.

(4) Finally on Sunday I did manage to work with my brother to fix his CD-ROM. I've been trying to help him for 6 months. All it took was for his girlfriend to leave him alone for a day. SOs just get in the way in some relationships. All it takes is for one of them to be grumpy and lazy and the other feels trapped. Like they have to hold their SO's hand 24-7 and deal with all their issues. The problem here is then nobody can do anything with them, because they are always waiting around for somebody else to stop babying a lazy person. Grhhhh.

I've seen this in many relationships. It is sort of like a control thing I think. The honeymoon is over, one of them is afraid, so they become homebodies and don't like to do anything at all.

Asside from being sick, I did get good pampering at my folks house and I loved going to the club with a small and intimate group of friends. But I wish I had more computer and private time at my folks. They still try and read over my shoulder at their place. I've told them that just how they don't like to be interupted while watching TV (and gawds they watch a lot of it), I would appreciate reading emails and being on-line by myself. My dad thinks I'm sitting on ebay for him. No. Ebay is fun, yes, but I also use the internet to keep in touch with people.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul