Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-01-08 - 01:40:48

Big things: (1) Cricket moved to Europe this weekend. This still hasn't settled in to me yet. I know she'll be in touch, but still it is tough to loose a friend. (2) Spring spent the entire weekend with me.

Basically this is what went down. Friday night Spring arrived and I had to coordinate things between Redwood and then Cricket and CyberSmurf. I wanted to fit in ice cream as well as dinner. If I don't feed Spring she gets grumpy, so when she is around making her full is my objective. I really just wanted to be lazy with her some more, I rarely get time to do that with her (so this weekend was a real treat).

Cricket and CyberSmurft had to move everything out of her apartment. When Spring (on a crutch) arrived I knew I couldn't bail on her. Then Redwood came over, which was nice, but the boy just doesn't fit in the back of a Mustang.

Aside: when your girlfriend leaves your apartment, turn off the lights, turn off the heater and put on leather pants ... they will keep you warm. And no, I'm not wearing her pants right now. ;)

I wanted Spring in the front because of her ankel, but I can't really drive with Redwood's knee on my center consol (sp?) thingie. It wasn't that bad, but I do get a bit fidgetty when Redwood *and* Spring bang up my car (Spring sometimes isn't careful with the door and slugs other cars). Don't mistake this for me being mad. I'm not, I love them both. But the obsessive / anal kid in me is stabbed in the eye each time they do this. It is strange, but sometimes I'm very careful with some things (my toy trains for example).

Anyway, I shuttled the three of us to dinner and then we got to Cricket's early. Not a good idea. She wasn't ready and Cyber seemed a bit tired or annoyed by our early appearance. Now it is a good thing we showed up. I know how hard it is to coordinate any large group and Spring being broken right now, meant as number 2 organizer I had to boss folks around. I'm not comfy enough around Cyber to tell him to do things ... even if friendly suggestions, so it was a bit difficult to trick them all into ice cream.

As we left (and finished loading Cricket's rental truck) she started to drive. I should have placed Redwood to drive the Uhaul, allowed Spring or Cricket to drive my car, and then gone with him.

Why? Well Cricket is so small she needed a pillow to drive the truck and almost hit a tree and me! *gulp* OK, it was dark. But Cyber can't drive, Spring shouldn't drive after her trip up here, that left me and Redwood. We were stupid and didn't think of this. Oh well, it was fine.

Except when we got to the bookstore they didn't want to buy Cricket's books. I realized that Cyber was just as stressed as Cricket (who was still in her truck), and that left me to beg the woman at the store to at least look at Cricket's used books. It worked, kinda. They bought three of Cricket's books (she had about 4 boxes full).

While this was going on, I noticed Cricket was missing! So I ran out to her truck and apparently the lights wouldn't shut off. Cricket was upset (not in tears, but still upset), so I asked her to not watch me fix the problem. I wacked at the dash board a few times and started and turned off the truck again. It worked.

Moral: When your friends are missing, look for them. When you've got a flock of sheep, one always will get lost. Learn to be in two places at one. And when you need to fix something, wack it politely and give it the look of "I'm an engineer, don't make me open you!". It works more often than not. *snicker*

Seriously, I was very worried the ice cream store would be closed. Problem, after buying the books we had a minute or two to get there. I wanted to run ahead and normally if Spring was healthy she'd be the first person to join me (part of what I love about her ... she has a solid head on her shoulders). But in crutches this is physically impossible.

So I asked Redwood, Cricket, and CyberSmurf several times to run ahead and keep the store open for us. Did they listen. No. :/ Oh well, we got very lucky, so all is cool. But sometimes I wish that I didn't always feel like the only person with time awareness.

In Alice In Wonderland, there was a rabbit who always worries about time.

Spring claims I'm a mouse. She actually is wrong. My animal guide at one point in time was (still is) the rabbit. OK, my other spirit guides are squirrels. Yes, I've got two different spirit guides, and they do come to me in times of distress.

The rabbit in me always wants to keep moving. (He also loves to be nekkid and be with nekkid women.) ;) But it is hard for me to do things with folks when they dottle _when_ I know it is a last chance.

Now this weekend Spring and I watched four films (thanks Redwood): Fargo , Interview with a Vampire , High Fidelity , and Caligula . I can be lazy and love it.

Oh fantasy time (something I've almost have had): Someday I want to spend an entire day in my apartment nude and just fooling around / sex with Spring. I know it isn't what she wants ... well, I don't know this, but when horny I've got easily twice the energy she has.

Again, I had the most wonderful weekend with her! Woot. She taught me how to clean my bathroom and did something like 80% of it. She put ZERO stress on me. And was supportive of everything. Damn, it was good.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul