Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2000-12-23 - 22:12:58

Sometimes non-engineers don't understand us at all. And that really pisses me off when non-engineering folks make all sorts of sweeping generalizations. No, make that I don't like it when anybody makes any sort of sweeping generalizations.

"Oh, you like machines. All engineers like machines."

*yawn*

There are other generalizations. The worst are, "Hey you are an engineer, therefore you must be like some other engineer."

We are people, just like everybody else. And we make mistakes and have our moments.

The day before Christmas, traditionally the head of my department lets everybody home early. The stupid thing is we aren't told in advance, and my bus doesn't leave until 4:30 PM. So while I was let home at 3 PM yesterday, I couldn't really just go home. I could sit outside for an hour and a half. And frankly, after getting on the wrong bus (another story, another time) I was moody. No, I was grumpy.

So Redwood had an idea ... a good one. ;) Pictionary on-line. There is a web page, shockwave, where you can log in and play random strangers in on-line Pictionary. Redwood rocks at the game, but I'm not half bad.

It was fun. So Redwood, Timber, and me all go on 3 different PCs and played the game till 5 PM.

Anyway, not everybody in my office would care about playing that game, and some of them would think it is wrong to use the office system for that (even though my PC was hard working on a simulation ... one that Shortround caused me to rerun, GAWD do I hate that guy).

Now on Thursday night I was hanging with Cricket. *sigh* I'm going to miss her. I don't know why, but she is just so level headed and calm ... just somebody I always enjoy being with. We had pizza for dinner w/ a pitcher of beer. After getting tippsy we went to walk trains. :)

You know, maybe I should make it a rule that anybody I hang out with has to enjoy sitting and watching trains with me.

After a train passed by, we went to her lab and Cricket gave me the tour of her work.

Doode! Cricket really is a rivethead! She didn't know this, but when I looked at all her photographs and research, damn, but her work would make the best artwork for anything industrial!

Her lab wasn't exactly how I thought it would look like, but it was still cool.

*snicker* And Cricket showed me a place that ... well, I want to do some photos at. There is electricity I can steal for flood lamps, it is in the center of the engineering campus, and yet it is totally restricted and private.

I still have to email Ivanova back. She has sent me several emails. I've been so busy that I haven't had the chance. She is big into RenFaire and not a freak. She tolerates my quirks, maybe even likes them. But other than a physical attraction, there just isn't anything else there for me.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul