Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2000-10-06 - 20:42:30

Drat! Double drat. :(

This week has been fairly uneventful and last night was great. Cricket came over and we watched the Nightmare Before Christmas ... my third time in a week. It is safe to say I love this film.

We talked a lot, the usual: politics, sex, people in our lives, people no longer in our lives (a wee bit), and our work.

I spent the early evening with Redwood and went to Fry's. Got that 6-D cell maglite I've been wanting.

But damn, today really sucks.

While I was attending a science conference I was sending runs. Well, I had messed up an input file and the model did __not__ pass any warnings. Normally my post processor would catch the error and I know to screen for these, but this particular location is where the model changes from channels to a reservoir and the model is very cludgey ... as in FUBAR around reservoirs. I complain about it, and for good reason.

Well a reservoir prevented me from checking my inputs and the model plodded along without really using the correct values. So I have to rerun 3 scenarios. :(

The stupid thing is the computer time required to do this. I'll have 1 of the three HYDRO dynamic simulations ready. Another should be ready for Tara this weekend, but I've got to disable my computer lock out so she can use my PC. That should be ready for her.

Then I have to leave some instructions how to finish my study. If I didn't have this STUPID P.E. exam, then I'd just stay up in Sacramento for this 3 day weekend and fix it here. Now I have to go to class all tomorrow (no fun tonight), and then I will try to visit Shrine on Sat night. But my Sunday and Monday (a state holiday) will be spent studying. I wonder if Spring has school on Monday.

FUCK! >:(

My damn PC keeps locking up. It has been doing this for some time. I'm just using too much memory. There is no way this model can be run under stressful situations.

FUCK, FUCK, FUCK. So I just got the department weekly spam ... like I care. Another load on my processor.

Yup, I'm mad. Why? Because I need a better processor when this happens. Because I'm a control freak and some engineers are going to panic and cancel this major experiment I'm part of because the moon is in a quarter phase and they tried to export too much water. Stupid, it is so incredibly stupid.

OK, here is the problem.

To get the input data ready for the model I have to use a program in MS Excel that uses Visual Basic. Not a big deal, except it is a pain. We made a forecast form to make this faster, easier, but that was back in May. The form isn't ready yet. >:(

So I go about the long way. The runs were changed last week mid way on me. Oh well, that happens.

So I tried to change all my input files ... I missed two. I caught the first mistake today and fixed it, but not the second. So I wasted an entire day.

I am one of the key modelers for the state here and I'm not expected to make these kind of mistakes ... I really hate it and feel like I'm letting lots of people down.

:(

Oh well, I have so many other stressful things to worry about. Oddly there are a few things that make it easier to realize my future doesn't depend upon a stupid test on Halloween: I worry about my friend's problems. They have them, some of them I'm pretty careful about, others I just wave in their faces hoping it will either cheer them up in a strange way or make them work on a solution. Not exactly like that, but something.

Damn, this weekend may be very stressful, because I'll be wanting to come into work to finish this. And the stupid no overtime rule had to occur just now. Right when the moon was at a location when I am needed the most.

As a water quality engineer basically when the moon is full or new the tides mix things very well. This is good.

Other times the moon is weak and things stew about ... this is bad.

Speaking of moons, I started looking for fetish picture locations for Spring. I hope we can go on a photo shoot.

I figured just indoors, but she doesn't like that. The problem is she is only up at my place when we are sleepy or during the day. Davis is too conservative for me to be naked in broad daylight. It just is.

Now at night, Spring had an idea for a shoot under some trains. I like that. I also found some neat flags and chain link fences not far from my place in a wildlife perserve / soccer field (yup both in the same place) that would be great to chain me too. And then maybe ... big maybe we could walk to under some railroad bridges. It would be unique. Not the railroad bridges are things we can do in daylight, but they are ugly.

I do know of at least one neat place in Walnut Creek.

Oh, I also know for night one railroad signal light that would so much rock. I think I can find another if we are smart about it.

I'm not sure what she had in mind.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul