Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2000-10-04 - 23:52:12

[Dream]

I was supposedly protecting some rivet/goth girl ... I don't know who, and spent the night being chased by this big punk bouncer guy that runs Deathguild. He and his motorcycle gang wanted the girl and me dead. At some point I stole his motorcycle, which apparently was the best cycle there is and enlisted the help of my friends.

[/Dream]

What a weird dream. The funny things were I didn't know I cared about motorcycles ... much less stealing them. And this punk guy has always been nice to me. Well he mostly ignores me, but no attitude at all.

And the girl I was protecting I didn't know, but many of my other friends were present and helping the two of us try to escape out of what kinda was S.F.

Anyway, today I attended the CALFED conference again. I also finished the first alternative San Joaquin River study for work. I've got to do some post processing on Friday. I'm actually looking forward to that.

The conference was much better today. The presentations were the same, but my expectations were lower. I decided to basically just listen and not expect anybody to actually do anything too useful. I was wrong, the 3 last presentations all were very easy to understand and had clear real world (non-academic) applications. And several before that were good too.

I guess it is part based on the subject: climate is very dreamy, containments are very real life. And I think I had a better attitude.

Speaking of attitudes, my boss told me her boss's boss has an issue with me. Apparently this guy keeps asking her, "Is Michael OK?" And he wants to know if my work is being affected by my appearance.

::sigh:: This means I've got to have a private time to talk with her and find out not as my friend, but as my manager if it is an issue. I hope not. It is just blue hair, but apparently somebody does have a problem with that.

And it isn't most people, which makes it all the more sad that some people get upset about these things.

I mean, people are still asking me to help them and work with them. My studies are still very good. And I am happy at work.

I just don't like that my boss's boss's boss (three levels up) told her that he doesn't want me having any public interactions now!

The stupid ass thing is I don't swear in public ... I'm very PC in public, *and* my spoken English is good. And I tell people only what I know, I don't mind telling large groups, "I don't know, but I'll find out and get back to you." Other engineers do have problems with this.

I suspect part of the issue might be that I'm not a "Frat Daddy" or "Breeder" type. This is just a guess, but this guy likes Frat types and is a parent ... while everybody knows I am not interested in settling down. That shouldn't be a crime, but I'm afraid it might be.

He once told my boss that it was inappropriate that I showed up at a co-workers' private party dressed in a black Star Wars t-shirt, jump boots, and BDUs. My boss told him that I dress this way all the time when not in the office and she didn't see how it mattered. My co-worker doesn't care, so why should he ... no, where the fuck does he get off telling people behind my back HOW and WHAT I should wear when not in the office at a party that is unofficial. I didn't wear any industrial acts t-shirts. Everybody else was drinking beer, and the kids got along fine with me.

Grrrr.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul