Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2000-09-28 - 10:23:45

Last night Cricket taught me how to ice skate!

And WOW! =) It was incredible. We went to this skating rink in Cow-Town (Vacaville). It was really cool, yes another pun -- somebody is rubbing off on me. :p

The rink has two full sized ice rinks and one roller blading rink too. A league was playing or practicing in the roller blade area (all separated), while hockey was going on in the other area. I think they were just practicing, I don't think hockey is as popular in CA as it was in Norway. And then the third area was just for skating.

I was wearing hockey skates ... at first they were tight, later they felt fine.

My first lesson was to march. OK, that wasn't bad at all. Next I was supposed to move my feet in and out. I forget what Cricket called it, but I think of it like making ice siccors. I couldn't do that. Lesson 3 just happened ... I fell down. SMACK. hehehehe Falling down is actually pretty fun. I think I mastered that last night.

I found out that I like to kick off my right foot. Meaning I keep my left foot in place and use my right foot to propel myself.

What is interesting is this is opposite of the way I dance. Dancing I put weight on my right leg and use my left to control speed. Skating left is balance and right is power. Maybe that makes sense.

Cricket said I was doing pretty good. At one point she was teasing me (yes, I love being teased ... especially by cute girls) by skating circles around me. Damn she is very good too. Not just staying just out of reach, but I felt very comfortable.

When I was a kid I once (only one time) went roller skating. I hated it. I smashed into people left and right. It was for this girl Gwen's birthday party. It was boring.

Later in college I once went roller blading. Again, I smashed into cars in the parking lot we practiced in. I hit everything and was so sore.

I wonder if dancing is helping my balance. I also wonder if my style of dancing would change by learning to do what Cricket does ... she is beautiful when she skates ... so fast, I want that speed and confidence.

There were two dark hippies. A girl and her boyfriend. He was just learning to stake too.

I think I did pretty good. In fact, I want to go again and soon. I also want to buy roller blades and learn more. Somehow skating seems right.

Now image goths on ice! :) A bunch of goths dressed to the nines in ice skates and skating to Peter Murphy. Wow I think I might try and organize something like this. It would be a true sight.

We skated from 8 to 9, then I tricked Cricket into Mickey D's. *snicker* I love it when I can grab a shake and french fries at Mickey D's. This is another story. Then we returned to have the entire rink to ourselves from 10 to 10:30 PM. :) Afterwards more tea at Cricket's, yummy.

An incredible day!

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul