Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2000-09-13 - 08:56:00

I'm a sleepy boy. Got in at 2:15 am. Maybe I should start at the begining, but the end of the story is Cricket did manage to get me buzzing ... yes, I know I was drunk. I'm just glad I'm a silly / sleepy drunk.

Uh huh, there is such a thing, you want to curl up in a nice warm lap, but you also still want to bounce around and bounce more than you ever have before. OK, so I bounce all the time, well not really despite what Spring says, I'm not hyper or a spaz (I hate it when she says that ... it hurts mostly 'cause it reminds me she doesn't look at me, but rather sees exactly what she wants).

Anyway, yesterday morning Redwood suggested we go to the Woodland Corn Field Maize Maze. Every year for Halloween farmers around here grow garbage corn and then cut out a complicated maze in the corn field.

The corn was taller than Redwood, and he is at least 6'4" ... I think taller, but usually I see three heights of people: tiny, hey you are like me, and titans. Redwood is a titan, Cricket is without a doubt a tiny, and then people like Spring are hey you are like mes.

OK, so I emailed Cricket telling her I was going to take her on a surprise trip and kidnap her. I was worried she would have been busy, Cricket is super busy and knows lots of people (the few I've met are really cool).

So after working late (it sucks that I've been staying at work so late ... *sigh* I wish I was a kid again and could play all the time) I got home, changed my clothes and picked Cricket up.

I didn't tell her where, but she guessed after the third turn that I was taking her to the cornfield.

Music, the girl (well she isn't a girl at all, that is a good thing) really has excellent tastes and likes to explore musically too. So now I have to get Curve's Doppleganger.

We got to the cornfield minutes before Redwood and Gypsy. Basically the four of us ran through these mazes that were at least 8' - 9' tall. Maybe higher, it was BIG. You'd think you could tell where you are in a maze. Well, we got lost several times. "Hey didn't we already pass marker 4?" "Sure, about three times already."

Hehehehe, Cricket is no mouse. She got lost a few times. Redwood became Captain Corn Stalk. He was wearing just normal clothes, but they were tans and grays, so he'd blend into the corn. His hair streak helped too. Not to mention his size. So Capt. Corn Stalk would run ahead, hide and then jump out at us with a flashlight in his hand.

There is something cool about flashlights, darkness, and mazes of corn.

CCS, Gypsy and I went last year too. But I had more fun this time.

I still wasn't too crazy, because (1) I'm kinda shy around Gypsy, and (2) I don't want Cricket to see me be too hyper (i.e. running around and stuff). Maybe Spring is right, maybe I am hyper. But she is about the only person I am sometimes that way around, and increasingly less (but that is because I'm finding out that the only time I'm on her mind is when I'm in sight, and even then I'm a very small part of her life).

So for the second maze I managed to discover that I was very lost too! At one point I looked up at the moon and said, "Gee, that should be other there." I realized that I was backwards, corn stalks can't move the moon around any easier than I can. :)

Eventually CCS found our way out. No doubt using his dual maglite super powers (hehehe, I know have a pretty geeky picture of him) and titan height.

Next time I go I want to wear a Grim Reaper costume. I kinda want to take Spring there ... we'll see.

We grabbed these super yummy corn pop things. What did they taste like? Sex! No just kidding. ;) They tasted like butterscotch (as advertised). The four of us drove to the G Street Pub (Cricket introed me to it, even though I've lived in Davis for years). She kicked my ass in Galaxia ... right, the old 80s video game. She didn't just kick my ass, she got high score number 3 and 4. She rocks. I'll stick to Pac-Man.

Redwood and Gypsy played pool. I was actually too tired for that. They then played all the pin ball machines and Galaxia. Um, Redwood put Cricket's scores to shame, but she could still hold her own. 80s kids. :) These people are great. Gypsy played the game more like I did.

Redwood and Gypsy left, while Cricket and I had another pitcher. Basically we chatted about everything while drunk. Funny how that works. I even said some things that I was afraid of saying before.

After the pitcher, the two of us ran to the park in downtown and just flopped down on the clover-grass stuff. It is supposed to be grass, but it looks like a salad. There two drunk kids sat and talked. I got home around 2:15 or so, and crashed.

This really was a great day. I really treasure the time I spend with Cricket and Redwood! I wish I could do more with them. ::sigh::

It also makes me wonder what it would be like if I could spend more time with my Bay Area friends. I just wonder about that.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul