Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-11-21 - 11:30 a.m.

Toys for Tots

Christmas this year is going to be stressful, because my credit card company has been hassling me over a disputed late charge. Basically they changed my Mastercard to an American Express and did not send a bill to me. The new card plus the lost bill (I actually believe the bill was lost in the mail) means I'm without an account to use online for family gifts. I'm back to cash and checks and having to actually physically shop.

I hate shopping by myself.

Oh well, it will just have to be done.

On another sad note, the US Marine Corps Toys for Tots drive has started again, but my local grocery store drop off point thus far has had only two donations. Both of them from me. L Last year while at the toy stores, I watched to see what exact LEGO sets the kids would get into shoving matches over and which LEGOs they would try and talk their moms and dads into buying. When the kids and parents would leave, I'd grab one to give to Toys for Tots too.

I'd get the LEGOs, because I like the company, but a LEGO set that I consider cool may not be the same thing I child likes. That is why I made a point to watch.

This year I still may buy a LEGO set or two, but I've been taking my old unopened 1990s Star Wars figures over. I bought them while in graduate school because I liked the figures and didn't know how long the line would go. The new line is still going strong, and frankly I don't need an opened toy and one still in its packaging.

The figures are still good, and hopefully with the DVDs and new movie due out this summer, some poor kid is going to like what I've dropped in the barrel thus far.

n.p. evil's toy :: human refuse

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul