Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-08-12 - 10:13 a.m.

Brother's Wedding

Well I have a new sister (in-law). I like my brother's wife. I don't understand why my mom and sister don't. My mom used to, but lately seems to like her new daughter-in-law less and less.

I suspect it has to do with the fact that her baby is grown up.

Now my sister's jealousy I can understand. First, she likes to be the center of attention. Second, her kid brother has somebody more important in his life than his sister. Third, they used to party, and my sister-in-law isn't much of a party person.

I can see the drama continuing to grow, which only gives me more incentive to travel and avoid the family a bit more. Sad, but true.

The wedding itself was fun. Lots of drinking, and everything went smoothly. OK, so my mom was in the emergency room due to stress, and a cousin (once removed) had to jump into my folks pool to prevent one brat (a second-cousin's kid) from drowning his kid brother (these same kids were asked to leave Alcatraz � imagine that, you are 10-years old and already kicked out of prison!). Oh and my grandmother being blatantly racist ... that really bugged me. But overall, it was a great experience.

It went mercifully fast too. I was the best man and spent most of my time either driving people around or drinking some good beer. I bought some Belgian imports to celebrate the occasion. I don't know why, but I'm one of the few people who despises MGD or Heineken, but has a love of the rare German and Belgian stuff.

Though I had plenty to drink, food was hard to come by. It was there and in generous amounts. But I was constantly on the run. The strangest thing ... I was actually only buzzed, never sick drunk.

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul