Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-03-16 - 10:13 a.m.

Ouch My Right Side

Last night was SF's Death Guild's 11th anniversary. It seems that I've always found an excuse to drive down on the anniversary night, even though the last club I went to was back in December. Um, last San Francisco club, because I went out while in Vancouver.

I didn't want to go out last night. I don't know why, but I've been feeling extremely anti-social as of late. I also knew that the club would be crowded. Anniversary night is when people like me who rarely bother to show up, turn out. We turn out in large numbers.

I don't know what it is about me, but I've always figured that people would think of me as an EBM � Belgian / German music fan. I may be kinda short, but I'm neither skinny or large. I like to think I fill out a pair of BDUs nicely, and easily fit the EBM / power noise stereotype.

But every year when I go, this same girl always gives me the dark wave (more femme oriented music). OK, the truth is, I listen and love this stuff just as much. It could be that the door girl realizes this. But I swear every time she hands me something, she looks at me, then at her stash of different goods, and hands me something so different than the way I dress.

At first I thought she was just a sick tease. But when another girl gave me her phone number and said if I ever need crash space to give her a call, by adding, "[Contour], I've been meaning to tell you that you were one of the few boys in this city who actually knows how to dance. You simply know how to move your feet and use them."

I think she was flirting with me, but the irony is that when I took social dance class in college my instructor told all of the women in the class, "Girls, I know you often complain that you never get the chance to lead. [Contour] obviously can't lead, so when you partner with him, you'll get your chance." I was horrible at social dancing.

The new room upstairs was great. Neo-classical and neo-folk music in the first half, and then hard core EBM with some noise in the later half. My knee and groin hurt. Probably cause I overdid it.

The funniest part of the night was when I spun around and the girl next to me accidentally shoved her palm into my nose. She slammed me good, but when she apologized she was shocked that I was laughing. It told her, "No worries. This is core music. I'd much rather somebody slam into me while enjoying themselves than feel like they have to dance so timid. Hit me any time you like, just make sure if I fall down to not laugh too hard." The girl just started laughing, but I wonder how she'll tell her side of the story.

Probably something like this: "I was dancing hard core and knocked this guy across the face. He started talking, but hell ... I couldn't hear over the music. He looked like a mess, but that is because he was a bit out of control. There was no blood on my hand or his nose. I smiled and apologized like three times. He was laughing, so I guess it is OK."

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul