Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-01-15 - 9:57 a.m.

The Man Who Invented the Leaf-Blower Should be Erased

I don't know why I started using my mp3 player again. I've not gone jogging in months. It got cold and rainy. I had too many things to do (like shopping for Christmas gifts). I was trying to finish reading a few books I've borrowed. I discovered my comic books were more interesting.

It hardly matters why, but the result is I wasn't jogging. This is bad. People should at least go on walks if they don't jog. Walking and jogging are some of the best forms of exercise you can get. Every time I go to Europe I walk so much that I come back lighter. This is amazing considering I eat more there and I sample all the beers I can. Belgian and German beer is amazing!

But while cleaning my apartment, perhaps hunting for something to auction off on ebay, I decided to tinker with my mp3 player. For the past week I've been listening to it while walking to work in the morning. (NOTE: I ride a bus between Davis and Sacramento, but I get off the bus early so I can walk a mile.)

Anyway, this morning there were two dudes weed wacking the grass on the Capitol Mall (an island that runs 10 blocks from the Sacramento River to the state Capitol building) in the light rain. One dude to hold the weed wacker, another to use the leaf blower to fucking dry the cut grass.

Why? Why the fuck would it take two groundskeepers to fucking edge grass on a piece of land that doesn't even matter in the middle of the rain in winter?

And you know what? I couldn't hear my own music because of the fucking leaf blower.

So my growing list of humans to exterminate when I finish working on my time machine: Mr. I-Invented-The-Leaf-Blower.

Yup Mr. I-Invented-The-Leaf-Blower. Like Stalin, Hitler, Sally Struthers, Stephan Groth (of Apoptygma Berzerk), any goth kid calling himself Demonicus, any goth girl calling herself Raven-you-add-the-second-part, the woman who writes / draws Kathy, and a few select others, I'm making your dad sterile. You won�t even be born. And all because you invented what I consider the "worst piece of 20th century technology".

n.p. sunshine blind :: liquid

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul