Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-01-12 - 10:51 a.m.

Never Say the Following to An Engineer!

The following was taken while I was planning to get to my folks and do some waste removal (there is a reason I'm a pack rat).

Dad: a volunteer�great but let's see what we can find in your bathroom first, could be a long job if I re-tile but destruction is always faster than construction

Me:DAD! Don't ever say that to an engineer! The only destruction we allow is to make way for bigger and BETTER construction.

The truth of the matter is I kinda do get a hard on for construction. I know I shouldn't shop at WalMart (it is an evil company that doesn't care about communities), but I do go to them now that I've discovered that they are carrying 21st century 1:18 scale toys. They have the best WWII aircraft.

Anyway, WalMart's are usually trashy. Unbelievably trashy. But a new WalMart opened up in Dixon, CA and the smell of brand new building is so ... well ... good. I never did this with my photographer ex, but we were wanting to screw around in some construction sites. I have no idea if it was her thing, but she knew me well enough to understand why I'd like it.

Construction has a smell. It is a good smell. Burnt oil, fresh dirt and clay, sawdust, with a bit of plastic here and there, and finally a bit of electricity. Yes, electricity has a smell (this is why I like vintage 1940s � 1970s toy trains, they smell).

If I had all the money in the world, I'd build a secret headquarters off in the mountains (Western PA probably), and in it I would have a small bedroom, small kitchen, but HUGE shop!

If I lived in Star Trek, I'd spend my time crawling between decks or working in the engine room. Since I'm a NexGen fan, I'd wear gold.

Though I'm afraid of water (I am, funny huh?), if it were WWII and I was pressed into service, I see myself kinda following in both my grandfather's footsteps. One grandpa was in the Navy and piloted landing craft (under fire) in the Pacific. The other grandpa was in the engineer corps and spent the war in the ports unloading the Victory and Liberty ships and then loading trucks to bring tanks, jeeps, food, ammo, and fuel to the front lines. (BTW I'm a big fan of the fact that an army fights on its stomach.) I'm positive I'd have been in the Merchant Marine or Navy moving people, tanks, and stuff.

n.p. :wumpscut: :: music for a slaughtering tribe 2

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul