Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-12-12 - 3:35 p.m.

Some People Are Just Assholes

Last night I went out dancing. While there I was talking with some friends, when one of them introduced me to a girl. The girl was kinda odd (as in standoffish) to begin with, but I usually attribute a lot of that to being in a dark place. Anyway, after being introduced I remembered her name. She posted irregularly on an email list I read and post to, and one day totally flamed me. I think she was out of line and called her a hypocrite.

While publicly I like to act as if people acting like assholes doesn�t get under my skin, it does. It was enough that I asked another friend on that list if she felt I was out of line. She said the girl was reading her own thoughts into my post.

Anyway, when I realized the girl at the club shared the same name as this other girl, I figured I'd give her a chance to maybe explain herself and affirm that what she said I said, wasn't at all what I was meaning. When I reintroduced myself to her, her only reply, "Oh, so you're the dick."

Talk about being rude. I think if there was one of us in that club last night with a problem, it was hers. The friend who introduced us actually just laughed and said, "[Contour] actually is one of the coolest guys around. You've so got the wrong impression of him." She left her defense at that.

To be honest, it was a pretty good way to treat it. Not get defensive. Not call this other woman rude, but basically just laugh at her and leave. I just left by saying, "Well, that is why I like [her]. She is direct and doesn't dwell on things. Later."

I wasn't going to say, "Nice meeting you." It wasn't. The woman was a dick head. I was wary before that, 'cause she really did overreact. But to call somebody an asshole when he was trying to be polite and clear the way for a prior email misunderstanding.

But I'm not surprised. At the time the girl's email flame went on and on about how I like to follow the pack, how I'm not comfortable being an individual, and how I'm not going to meet any women this way.

You know, it never occurred to her that maybe I'm not interested in meeting anybody right now. The honest truth is: I'm not. When I've thought having to one day move in with somebody else, I can think of very few women whom have had a home that I feel comfortable in.

One of the DJs gave me two power noise comps. That small dead more than made up for snotty attitude from a stranger.

n.p. hypnoskull :: ffwd>>burnout!

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul