Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-10-31 - 10:09 a.m.

Happy Halloween!

Last night I went to MEAT. It is an EBM focused club, but it avoids future pop and many of the overplayed EBM top 40. Or at least tries too.

Some of the Frontline Assembly and Front 242 and Skinny Puppy was actually pretty top 40, however, when I think about the Siechtum and Suicide Commando played, the DJs did a great job in playing less popular but good tracks.

But the real beauty of the club is that the DJs were beat mixing most of the night. The Bay Area has some great DJs and some OK ones. One of my friends is the Sacto industrial DJ, and I took him down. I count him among some of the best DJs, plus he gets bonus points for knowing more about modern music than the MEAT guys. The MEAT guys are good, but they aren't current.

Anyway, I was in costume all night long. I think the only person I accidentally smacked my scythe-broom was myself.

I'll post a picture of my costume tonight and talk more about that.

But let me say this. I think I should have been a mascot when I was in high school. For some reason I love being crazy and silly when I put a cartoon mask on. (Yeah, I was a cartoon character again.)

I didn't get nearly as much girl attention this year as when I went as Blinky Ghost, but it was obvious that one girl was interested in me. The girl had been watching me most of the night, and naturally I figured it was the costume. But then she made KK (a friend of mine and apparently hers) introduce us. KK always gives me the world's best backrubs, but last night KK decided pushing my nose would be fun.

It isn't like I try to be silly, but for some reason when she did that, my natural reaction was to honk and cross my eyes. As stupid as this sounds, apparently KK and the girl whom she introduced to me loved it so much that they wouldn't stop pressing my nose button. I got the feeling that the girl was more interested in me than just my scythe-broom and big white hands. Because KK asked a few times how soon "they" would see me again.

Frankly the girl was cute. And it helps when a woman digs a cartoon ghoul.

n.p. thanacid :: morphine soda

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul