Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-10-26 - 12:13 p.m.

Do You Know What You Buy?

I don't. And this worries me. I don't like to be friends with assholes. The world is full of assholes. So why do I give my money to them?

This morning while shaving I looked at my Edge gel shaving gel bottle. It is the same bottle I've been using since I was given a free demo in August 1990. Oh, I've purchased many additional bottles, but the design is the same.

In 1991 I was living in the dorm with Bane (whom I dreamt died last night while trying to dig a tunnel). Anyway, one day I ran out of shampoo, so I went to the store and bought the same green bottle of shampoo I had been using since I was a kid.

I continued to wash my hair with the new bottle, but I noticed that each day, that my hair was feeling stranger than it had before. I went a week doing this before asking the guys in the dorm if they noticed a change in the water. Surely if my hair was getting strange even though I was washing it everyday, that the water would be the logical culprit.

They said, "What the hell are you talking about [contour]?" NOTE: Actually maybe that should say contour-ito, since everyone used the Spanish kid nickname for me.

Anyway, much to my surprise I eventually found out that I had been conditioning, not washing my hair for a week. At the time, I had washed my hair everyday, but I had never applied a pure conditioner to my hair, let alone on a daily basis. Furthermore, I wasn't using any shampoo. Apparently the company I bought stuff from changed their bottles enough that I picked up a totally wrong product from the totally right looking bottle.

For the record, I condition my hair nearly everyday now, and shampoo it as needed. The end result is my short hair is more like clean retriever fur. Very soft.

Sometimes it pays to pay attention.

n.p. bronski beat :: the age of consent

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul