Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-10-08 - 10:03 a.m.

Survived

Yesterday was historic for California and democracy, and yet tiring for me. After going to the final A's game of the season (they lost), I found out Monday night that I didn't have to report for jury duty. Instead I volunteered my time yesterday to work in the statewide recall election.

I was sent to work in a precinct with 3 80-year old women. While I think they were nice people, they didn't know what the hell they were doing. Frankly, I'm mad at voters who don't get off their asses and volunteer. I'm mad at the county for turning away a few people I know who did volunteer to help.

But the positive side is, now that I've had good and bad poll working experiences, I'm doing the next step. I'm going to campaign and use my political connections (and I have a connection to the new governor's administration as well ... I know his GIS expert) to reform California.

A few months ago I felt a need to get active with the Green Party. While I still do, I now have a specific agenda that I will work for on multiple fronts.

n.p. blutengel :: angel dust

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul