Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-07-30 - 11:10 a.m.

Pyramid Brewery

Years ago the area of San Francisco on the water front under the Bay Bridge was amazingly run down. Sweatshops and empty warehouses lined the waterfront. But with the dot.com boom, old warehouses were slowly replaced by expensive lofts, and what once was a dirty, yet cheap part of town, became nice and respected. I started visiting goth clubs in 1999, and at the time, the last of the cheap spots hosted the weekly and monthly clubs. Many of these places are now gone.

I'm split on urban gentrification. But it seems that one of the signs that a run down downtown area is going to be cleaned up is when brewery-restaurants start replacing dive bars. It happened in San Francisco in the early 1990s, and it is now happening here in Sacto.

Last night, we celebrated Redwood�s birthday by taking him to the Pyramid Brewery here in downtown Sacto. The place has only been opened a few weeks, but was already crowded. And amazingly there were people on the K Street mall. This street is usually packed with state workers by day, but come 4 PM (when many state employees turn into pumpkins and disappear) this part of town gets really ugly, really fast. But with the brewery things are starting to clean up.

I'm not sure if I like this or not. I'm not in favour of crime or even panhandling. In fact, I think people should be free to go out at night. I hope they do. I just hope that the face lift doesn't get too expensive. If all you are doing is moving out people you don't like, you are just moving a problem.

But I can say this, Sacramento and its surrounding towns are still experiencing incredible growth. As the Bay Area is killing itself, businesses and people are moving out here. I wouldn't be surprised if Sacramento gets even more interesting (and fun) in the next ten years. Already, the city is getting a reputation for being a good place for musicians to get a start.

Beer was fun. Sleeping last night was ... interesting. Interesting dreams I should add. I won't share them all, but I'm still left wondering about the dream I had where a girl I could easily describe as my dream girl (nobody real, just sort of what I�d consider the most attractive features and attitude you can find in a person) was constantly trying to seduce me. Of course this is understated. The girl was constantly grabbing my dick, and refused to let me wear any clothes (think typical goth dom girl). The strange part was the end of the dream where she disappeared into a building, and I caught sight of her after she had been caned. She was bleeding, and her cuts and bruises were in perfect horizontal stripes. Anyway, after this she was then chasing around another guy and totally avoiding me. Somehow I found out that she has some sort of evil wizard dude who was her master, who had told her that she had to find some guy and trick him into coming up to the top of the building so he could sacrifice him. Apparently her disinterest in me was for my protection. Anyway, like all my dreams, it was visually detailed beyond belief. But I was shocked when I woke up to my alarm about the level of detail in the story of my dream as well.

While it is true that I have really hyperactive / hyperdetailed dreams, last night was beyond that. I wonder.

n.p. qntal :: qntal iii

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul