Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-06-17 - 8:50 a.m.

Original Date: 2003.05.27 :: High on a Train

Actually I'm just really relaxed. This is good because the only other time (yes, just once before) that I smoked pot during my short buzz I wanted to strip naked. While on the train this wouldn't be a good idea. I'd so have my naked ass throw in jail.

So how did I get here? After having a late start to Amsterdam, we made it to the waterloopein street market. On Tuesday s there is a flea market in Amsterdam, but there was little of interest for me.

We then walked to the Rijks Museum only to find out that only a small central exhibit was opened, so we could really only see a few paintings. Fortunately every cloud has a silver lining � today's cloud lining was that the audio tours were free.

Basically you wear a CD player like device (there is one for each language) and then enter a number (code for each painting). I actually got a history lesson with the paintings and we spent a few hours in an exhibit that I'd normally spend only minutes buzzing by.

After the Rijksmuseum, Redwood and I rented a "canal bike". This is Amsterdam's word for a paddle boat. Fuck are they ever impossible to steer. Fortunately the boats and steering is something I'm good at. I knew I could be a sailor like my grandpa.

We paddled only for an hour, but it was enough to get the basic experience down.

Would I recommend it to anyone? No. Not because getting in the boats and seeing central Amsterdam by water isn�t wonderful. It is! This is why the canal tour buses do good business. It has everything to do with the fact that the boats take work to move. Unless you are a masochist or sadist (meaning you force some guys to do your dirty work), take the canal bus instead.

After the boats we went on a hunt. No just a very long walk to see the house Redwood�s dad (Dutch Word: Vader) was born in. His dad is Dutch and was born in Amsterdam during the Nazi occupation. After finding the house with no problem we took about an hour to wander to one of Smurf's and Redwood's friend's apartment.

Cute goth girls! sigh I'm just thankful that my ex-girlfriend introduced me to pot before. The weed only made my sore testicle feel better. Well the vodka could have helped too!

It is important to note that being relaxed feels wonderful! And more importantly, I can keep a level head. Not bad for a guy most people nickname "Loopy".

[NOTE: It is true, for over the past year, alcohol and drugs (prescribed and not) have not had a major impact on me. It is a blessing and a curse.]

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul