Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-06-16 - 4:07 p.m.

Original Date: 2003.05.23 :: Somewhere Over Canada

I've just finished my dinner and hot tea, and I'm thinking a long nap is in order. But I'd want to [not] sleep through Daredevil, the inflight movie. I've also discovered that channel 5 on the plane's [KLM] "radio" is playing the Bond movie themes.

Something interesting has already occurred. While passing through the security checkpoint [in SFO] the manager started teasing me. Apparently he was Army and noticed me lacing my jump boots. As part of the new security requirements we all had to take off our shoes or in my case boots. He kept calling me "skippy" and saying that he could out shine me and would be waiting for me the next time I came through. He then showed me his "25-year old" standard issue combat boots.

I was shocked at how well he has kept them, so I asked him his secret. He was flattered, but replied, "Skippy, my secret is just spit and cotton balls. I bet they didn't teach you to use cotton in boot camp." He went on, "So I need to get me a pair like yours, they are only $100."

After continuing he asked me if I was going to let him get away with all of that. He was expecting me to boast back!

Now I know that I wear some of the airborne's best: Corcorans. And I do keep my jump boots in stellar condition. Few people in San Francisco notice, but usually I've got the cleanest boots around. The other issue is that even without speedlaces I'm usually very careful about lacing up.

Boots are like corsets! Really. If you are sloppy about how you pull them together, then they'll not fit correctly. Though I take care of my boots, I'm also very hard on them. I used to jog, and until you see me dance there is no real way to put to words what I can do in a pair of Corcorans.

[Use your imagination. *snicker*]

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul