Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-11-27 - 9:43 p.m.

Hocico Concert

Last night Redwood and I went down to San Francisco to see Hocico and Haujobb. The drive there and back was perfect. Redwood is always a great guy to go along with on long drives. We also have a ritual that I love. Before a concert we eat a Booger King. I know, I know. Most folks think fast food is horrible. I like it, but I also like easy to make food at home too. Actually, it is better said that I hate food.

The show was at Slim's, which is the venue where I saw the Church back in 1999 and VNV Nation in 2000. I like the place.

A Pit

No surprise, but Hocico had a pit. There are times that the San Francisco industrial scene is pretty lame. Basically there are a ton of people that care little about the music, but go to clubs for largely social reasons. That is fine, but it means that the music tends to be watered down. Techno is OK in clubs up until the point that people associate it with techno. And harder edged music like Hocico's is also frowned upon. (Haujobb falls into music that has been labeled as techno therefore "Goths" don't listen to Haujobb ... a shame too.)

What was a surprise was that the people who did show were people I didn't recognize. Perhaps that is why there was a pit. It was a different crowd. And many of the people in the crowd were speaking Spanish, not English. Lots and lots of super cute rivet girls. *Snicker*

Technically I wasn't in the pit, but I kinda got (happily) mixed in with it a few times. It was fun to just dance and not have to work about bumping into people. Though I did push the punk kid with the super spikey jacket away from. I just got sick of his damn jacket poking me.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul