Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-11-03 - 7:46 p.m.

Halloween 2002

Last year for Halloween I went on a "date" with my domme to one of the larger goth / industrial venues in San Francisco. At the time I was reluctant to go out with her specifically because she had asked me in mid Sept. and called it a "date". When I go to clubs, I actually don't like feeling attached.

Once we got to the club it was packed. It only got worse. One of my largest gripes about Halloween and Goth Clubs, is plenty of "retired" or once a year goths show up. There is nothing wrong with not being a club regular, but the fact that some many people who don't normally support the clubs show up on this one night each year means that the venue is packed. The music is often bad, as DJs will play the top 40 hits.

Anyway, Halloween always has been a special time for me. When Bronco asked me to watch her house because she was going to her grandfather's funeral, naturally I said yes. I also made it clear to her that I was not planning on going clubbing this year, so she and Cloud wouldn't feel bad.

In fact, handing out candy and toys to kids this year was wonderful. I made a total of 9 jack-o-lanterns. The first five were carved with my brother and his girlfriend last Sunday. Monday night I went to Bronco and Cloud's where I carved another 3. Then Tuesday night I carved one more with Redwood and Gypsy. I am the Pumpkin King!

Don't Fear the Reaper

This year I dressed as a Reaper. If I had time to prepare I would have made a mask and looked like the little guy in my diary. I could have been the "Jawa Reaper" and reused my cartoon hands. Instead I just put on my normal club gear and threw on a Reaper Robe. The robe actually fits me well ... I'll have to get some pictures to show you all (BTW if any of you are curious about what I look like normally ask, I'll email you a regular picture of me).

The joke at work was, "[Contour], you didn't dress up." The truth was they hit it pretty damn close to the mark. That is what I love about Halloween.

I did play a joke in the office, I went into my co-workers office and set their wall clock 1.5 hours ahead. The funny thing is one of my co-workers got up and left at 5 PM (really 3:30 PM). The sad thing was he never came back or realized that his watch and computer and bus and everybody else in the world knew it was 3:30 PM. The guy is an idiot anyways, but I think he was just looking for an excuse to leave work early.

I got to Cloud and Bronco's before dark, and immediately set up our combined poll of 12 jack-o-lanterns. Then I turned on the few lights that weren't on timers, and just waited for the kids to arrive. They first started trickling in around 6 PM and stopped by 8 PM. Between visits I sat on their couch and read the Marvel Super Hero Secret Wars (a trade paper back reprinting a 12-issue series from the early 1980s). In addition to giving all the kids tons of candy, I had stickers and toys for the little ones.

Best costume: the little triceratops girl. She also happened to be one of the youngest kids this year, and my reaper costume apparently scared her speechless (which her parents didn't think was possible). It isn't that I like scaring little kids. I even told her that ghosts like me are afraid of dinosaurs and tried to run away from her. She didn?t even crack a smile. She was totally convinced that I had killed Bronco and Cloud!

Most popular costume: the belly dancer. Tons of teen-aged girls were out and wearing the belly dancer type of costumes.

After 8 PM Redwood and his girl came by with the movie Frailty. Good choice for Halloween. It isn't really a horror film, but it is about serial killers. I highly recommend the film.

Anyway, they left close to 11 PM and I stayed and haunted the house until midnight. I don't know why, but I had a lot of fun having Halloween mostly to myself, but at times joined by my best friends or at the very least in their house and with their cats.

LISTENING TO: Sleepwalk Torture Chamber

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul