Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-09-26 - 4:28 p.m.

Corn Again

Last night Bronco, Cloud, and I visited the Woodland Corn Maize. This year marks my fourth year. Normally I've visit the maize maze about 3 times a year. The first year I went once during the day and once at night. The second year I dragged Minmei there twice and actually kidnapped Cricket once. The kidnapping involved a blindfold. **snicker** The third year Cairo and Crimson both joined me. However last night will be the only time this year I went.

For Art-Thug

And the rest of ya ... check out the maze web page.

It takes only 1 hour to get from the Bay-Area to Woodland ... maybe more if you go during rush hour.

It took the three of us under 2 hours to get out. Last year Crimson, Redwood, and I were lost in the maze for nearly 3 hours. Yay! I'm getting faster. And we only got really lost about twice! Last year we were totally lost most of the night. Don't laugh until you've tried a similar maze.

The wild part of the maze last night was, we were the only three people in the corn field! OK, there were a few corn cops (kids that run the place), but we essentially had the maze to ourselves.

At times the maze was very cold, but sometimes when we'd turn a corner and suddenly it was like walking through a giant cloud of heat. I was teasing Cloud when I asked him if he farted or something, as there was no reason for the air to suddenly get so warm.

Ghosts maybe? I hope so. But I think not. When we came out of the maze to climb on the wooden bridges they've set up in the middle of the maze it was again unbearably hot. I think transpiration (water released from the corn) was actually cooling the air in the maze. In sections were the corn was near death, perhaps there was less transpiration. In the past I've noted that corn fields are extremely humid, even if the ground under your feet is bone dry. It really is amazing how much water is stored in 9' tall plants, but there it is.

LISTENING TO: Impressions of Winter Iutuma

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul