Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-09-10 - 4:33 p.m.

Soap: Use It Wisely!

Most folks take common 14th century inventions like soap for granted. I used to. But Sunday my brother drove up and then we picked up Redwood before heading over to a local comic show.

The show was held in a Masonic temple (which looked more like a community center ... perhaps they are the same thing) and wasn't too crowded. I wasn't expecting much, but I walked away with more than I expected.

First, I had forgotten how geeky some people can be. There is nothing wrong with being a geek, but some people take it too far. The only group I really have in mind are the smelly geeks. I so wanted to grab the microphone and announce: "Hear me fellow nerds! I have come back from the other side and brought with me an invention they call soap! It works by adding water and rubbing it on your body. You must focus on your *giggle* private parts. It is simply amazing, as it removes our body odors!"

Some of the guys there were terrible smelling. At some booths I just had to walk away when a stinky person would walk up. The guys selling stuff were friendly and fine, but damn, I swear a couple of guys were worse than those portapotties at construction sites.

I ended up raiding some $0.20 and $0.25 bins with my brother. Together we probably brought home around 140 comics. Most of them were from the Avengers series. Though among my favorite are the newer Captain America and the Black Cat titles. Cap wins, because he is an idealist who doesn't mess with politics.

I'd also recommend paper crack fans check out Marvel's new the Ultimates series. The stories and artwork simply rock my world.

LISTENING TO: Cleen Second Path

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul