Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-05-30 - 1:46 p.m.

More on Phones

I have nothing against cell phones. On Sept. 11, 2001 I was one of many people who was thankful to borrow and quickly call my folks to let them know that the state had sent me home. Technology is a great thing. Without it, we�d be listening to witchdoctors as leeches sucked our blood. Then again, witchdoctors and leeches aren�t that bad either. I just wish witchdoctors were stubby naked people with only a grass skirt covering their privates and leeches � well their mouths kinda bug me.

Anyway, I think people should be able to own and use cell phones. I just think that they should know their own limits and show a bit of respect for others. If you simply can�t drive or even walk while talking on a phone, then really � stop and sit down! It just is that simple to me.

Implants

Though actually if they could implant phones / thought projectors (with an off switch) in people, I�d be first in line. I�ve always felt that if I were in a meeting and had the ability to download information or ask questions to people not there, without sharing that information with everybody else in the meeting that � well � I could get a lot of work accomplished. Actually this is kinda creepy, but I�d also love to have an optical scanner that could give me data on objects while I�m looking at them. I guess velocity and distance data would be easy enough, but if I could tell how fast other things are moving when I was running, I dunno, I just think it would be useful. Well, if I were a spy or something. And since I�m most certainly not, I guess I�ll ponder about better things.

Star Wars Again

Yup, I went for a third time last night. The film does get better the more you see it. But I�m a bit biased, as I�ve always enjoyed the other three films. Yes, I said three. Yes, it is 2002. And yes, I still mean three. Think about that!

In light of Attack of the Clones I�ve reevaluated my long standing dislike of Palpatine. Before I always thought Tarkin had a better grasp on politics and stronger hold on Vader. Tarkin just seemed more like the type of super villain I am. The thinker, liar, get everybody else to do your work type. Palpatine / Sidious now has those qualities and in full. And at the same time, I actually wonder if I�m more of a Tyranus / Vader personality. The parallels between the manners of these two characters is probably what interests me the most in the current film.

Star Wars fans will remember a comic book series called Dark Empire. I can�t help but wonder if Dooku / Tyranus is pulling what Luke did in that series. [By the way, if you like stories where good people feel as if they can do a greater good by committing some evil, read Dark Empire.] It is this very duality in both Vader and Tyranus that I wonder about. Would I mind a benevolent dictatorship? I honestly have to think more about that. I certainly have little faith in my own government, but I just don�t think a 30-year old engineer can do much.

LISTENING TO: Love Is Colder Than Death Teignmouth

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul