Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-05-24 - 9:34 a.m.

Here and There

So last night I opted to not go to the Apoptygma Berzerk show, though my friends were going. I�m not really a bit Apop fan. In fact, I actively dislike Apop. OK, there are a few Apop songs that I think are good, but after the stunt Apop pulled in 2000, when they started canceling several of their shows and forcing VNV to also cancel without rescheduling show dates seemed like a slap in the face of their fans.

And though I didn�t care at all about the music, I did want to be there with my friends. I can�t dance, though I�m feeling a bit stronger � but I can sit at a concert. It wouldn�t bug me if there was another show coming up soon that I could go to. I need to go to a concert. I missed FunkerVogt. I missed Wave-Gothik-Treffen (which means I missed tons of ethereal and nOise bands). What is coming up that I can look forward to?

About Wave-Gothik-Treffen, I can�t wait to here from Cricket. What did I miss? I have to know!

But Here Things Remain the Same

So why everybody was out having a blast last night, I sat at home with my new CDs straight from Metropolis. I am a bit disappointed with Persephone�s (Side project of L�ame Immortelle) �Home�. I�m sure there are some people that would like her solo project, but I was expecting a bit more. I didn�t get to listen to everything, so the rest of this weekend will be spent listening to the rest of my new purchases.

Why Do People Talk To Me

When I�m walking or riding public transit people always approach me. My first girlfriend�s mother always gushed on and on how I had a �kind� face. She really didn�t speak much English, and really didn�t have anything to do or say, other than squeeze my face and wander off. While having a youthful face is not the worst curse a person could have, I get zero street cred.

Last night while taking the lightrail to Redwood�s place (I had dinner with the guys before they left for Apop) a total stranger tried to talk to me several times. This happens too frequently on all sorts of public transit. People see me get on a bus or a train and assume that I want to be friendly and talk to them. I don�t. I just want to get from point A to point B.

The woman in question was just making small talk and teasing me how she wanted my sunglasses. Big deal. Yes I like them, but damnit woman � go to Rite-Aid and get your own pair.

Things like this really bring back my fantasies of how relaxed I�d be in a world with today�s infrastructure, but virtually none of the people. If something bad is going to happen to the human race that will leave our buildings intact, but eliminate most of us, I�d like to be in the group that survives. I actually have enough mechnical knowledge to be able to repair vehicles and could figure out how to get simple things like pumps working again (water). And I wouldn�t mind having to forage and start my own gardens. The hard part would be having to fend for myself and keeping other people away.

LISTENING TO: P.A.L. Matrix

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul