Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-04-10 - 11:06 p.m.

The Church

So Monday night I went to see the Church at Sacramento's Harlows. The nightclub is located in midtown and is incredibly cool. Damn, if only goth / industrial clubs could score venues as nice.

The venue kinda reminded me of the Obi-Wan nightclub from the second Indiana Jones film. OK, the art deco style was black and brown instead of tan and white from the film, but still. Nice.

The opener started about at 9 PM, but Particle and another co-worker joined me and we talked through most of the opener act: Low Flying Owls. They were OK, not bad, not great. I like the name. Just not my style of music � sort of a folk guitar thing.

Bane and his girlfriend Squidy showed up. It has been a year since I last saw Bane, and I was glad to see him. I guess my illness has made it important to me that I fix an damaged relationships and see everybody (which is why what I heard coming from Minmei hurts so much right now). Bane was looking good, though he is always afraid of groups. I guess now that I'm older, I know how to handle him better that he doesn't stress me out like he used to.

So for the few Church fans: Steve is starting to look a bit old, but he still has the best stage presence I've seen. Steve's magic is his eyes, and that power is still there. OK, his vocals are incredible too. Marty was singing some, and Marty's voice is always wonderful. He was jiggly as always and had a few guitar solos. But I'm more a fan of Peter. I ended up buying one of his solo CDs, and god damn, Peter is a goth boy in denial! His solo work is very ethereal shoegazer material. I love it.

Here is what they played (out of order): Metropolis, Myrrh, Constant in Opal, Numbers, After Everything, Chromium, Radiance, Under the Milky Way, A New Season, Hotel Womb, Swan Lake, Magician Among the Spirits, Electric Lash, Tranquility, Buffalo. I might have missed something, but I hope not.

Anyway the show was incredible.

Unfortunately my pain has returned. I was in a huge amount of pain and Kaiser hadn't yet refilled my anti-inflammatory drugs. I had to stay seated the entire show, which had me nearly in tears. Dancing is so very important to me, and having to sit like a Hutt doesn't feel right. But the pain was too great for anything else.

The downside is that yesterday at work the shock of what Redwood told me about Minmei and the pain had me break down in tears at work. I cried for several hours and got chills. I've never felt worse in my life � and I really don't want to have to return to work. I had to take the codine pill, so when I got home (rough bus ride) I ended up picking up my refill (only days late � bad HMO, I'm in pain!) and then slept from 6 PM until 9 AM the next day. I obvious skipped work.

I feel like crap still, but I'll talk about that later �

LISTENING TO: Peter Koppes Love Era / Irony

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul