Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-03-02 - 4:37 p.m.

Rejection Letter

Everybody knows that the small letter means you were rejected. I've been interviewing for the past 6 months with a water district near my folks, and today I got the small letter.

That is OK, I found the district staff stuffy. Nice, but they were basically very suburbanite, i.e. they all are in a point in their lives that I'm not, nor was I comfortable with.

But I still would have liked to have heard the news personally from the guy I interviewed with and not from some HR paper pusher whom I never had any contact with. I saw the guy on Monday and Tuesday, but he didn't say anything. He should have, but what he did I think was pretty rude.

But Monday another of the guys whom I interviewed with, but who left asked me to apply to a larger water district in Oakland doing the same thing with him. Guess what? I'm filling out the application now.

The irony here is that the first water districts letter didn't say I didn't get the position. It said I wasn't even selected to be interviewed, when in fact I was the first person interviewed in December. They should get their facts straight. I'd love it if I got the Oakland job, and then have the first firm turned around asking me to interview again. My reply will be, "Well, on Feb. 27 I got a letter from your HR department telling me my background and skills don't meet your needs. After getting that letter I went elsewhere. I don't know what to say other than I'm sorry, but if your letter was different that might have changed matters."

The truth is the position was doing something that I'm more skilled at than most people. However, the rest of their staff was equally young, and they wanted age over experience. Ironic isn't it. You pass up on an experienced engineer because he is too young and not ready to manage people.

Also I have the liability of having an A-line hair cut, which in the engineering world is considered radical. Fuck them, engineers don't all have to look like some 1950s geek boy grown up.

LISTENING TO: the Flatline Compliation

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul