Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-01-28 - 1:42 p.m.

CD Drama and Delicate Subjects

After sending off one of Cricket�s friends (whom is moving to Paris), Cricket and Redwood crashed at my folk�s place. It was great being able to drag them both to my folk�s place. My parents like them both, and their cats just can�t get enough of either of them. Cricket is a cat person, and cat�s know this. Redwood is an animal person. All animals just love him and follow him around.

Sunday, Cricket and I were hanging out. Typically this involves going to some store, taking eons while chatting about everything. Rasputin�s Music. We went to Rasputin�s to CD shop. =)

After lots of debating, Cricket finally picked up a CD that she said was impossible to find. Of this I�m certain, as I can�t remember the name right now, but it had no label, and looked very underground. It turns out that the CD was experimental and reminded me of Death in June (whom I like).

The Drama

Cricket however doesn�t have money to burn on music that she will only listen to a few times a year, and the CD wasn�t what she was hoping for. I feel a bit bad for encouraging her to buy the CD. I like to be experimental with my music, and I am as much of a collector as I am interested in the music itself. Fortunately we had time to return her CD, so I zoomed us back to Rasputin�s.

Rasputin�s has a return policy that they will refund 76% of your purchase. I don�t know if I like that or not. I wish that they have CD listening stations, but then I�d never leave the stores. They are huge. Some of the best used CD stores in the Bay Area if you are looking for gothic or industrial music.

Unfortunately the return policy is such that you can only get store credit at the store you bought your CD from, and within the next 60 days. Cricket is returning to the Netherlands this weekend, and I rarely go to the South Bay. So her $10 was going to be lost, unless she or I bought another CD.

The Gift

While she was trying to convince the store clerks to just give her cash, I was eyeballing a huge 200+ CD collection that some rivet guy just brought in to sell to the store. NIN, Brighter Death Now, Pain Station, :Wumpscut:, Frontline Assembly, and some local experimental music immediately caught my eye. I was like a kid on Christmas, because I immediately started talking to the guy.

�Too bad you didn�t bring this by yesterday. I would have loved to buy some of your collection. Wow, is that the import version of Bunker Gate Seven? I have the domestic release. Damn, why are you getting rid of that. Wow, I�ve only recently been thinking about getting Pain Station, after hearing about a connection to Converter.� Etc. etc.

The rivet and his girlfriend were amused. I did convert into a bouncy 5-year old. So he picked up Frontline Assembly�s Hard Wired, and said, �Here, enjoy!� I offered to pay him, but he insisted that I just take the CD. Basically he and his girlfriend were surprised to see somebody so excited about used music.

The truth is I loved buying used clothes, toys, and CDs. More importantly I want to know where my stuff came from. Everything has a story.

The delicate part

The delicate news is that Redwood and Bronco got their Professional Engineers exam results back. Bronco passed everything. Redwood passed two of the three exams. I had to take the exam twice, so I think this is great news. The exam is hard. It really is. I understand him being bummed, but he really did something few young engineers can do.

It also is hard seeing people who passed running around the hallway and openly displaying their joy. Again, I understand it, but it is difficult to deal with these exams. Hopefully when I take Redwood out tonight, he�ll cheer up more.

LISTENING TO: Siechtum diagnose:zeit

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul