Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-11-13 - 11:48 a.m.

Calories = Fuel

There is a good reason adults encourage us to play with toys. First, they stimulate the imagination. If I had a dollar for every person I met that simply doesn't use their imagination to even a small fraction of their natural ability, I'd quit my job and sleep in until noon everyday like a good gothic princess. :p

A few weeks back, on an evil impulse, I bought some remakes of the original Transformer Combaticons. Actually these remakes sport better colours, a nice plus. But unfortunately the new toy designers didn't realize why Transformers were more popular than the Gobots of the 1980s. It wasn't that the robot designs were superior, but that the Transformers had half a story already packaged with the toy. Each robot came with a tech spec. Basically a bio, not too dissimilar from diaryland's profile feature.

Tech Specs

If I could find a cool picture of me, perhaps I'll post it in my diary along with a tech spec. I know I'm curious about other people who's diaries I read, so I think it is a safe guess people may be interested in seeing where these thoughts and emotions come from.

But I've digressed. The Transformer tech specs included a motto, statistics describing the robot, and then a brief personal history and/or description of special robot abilities. Only some of the new transformer remakes have these tech specs, and the artwork and bios just don't hold a candle to the original ones of the 1980s.

So under the impression that this should be fixed, when I was at my folk's house on Sunday I searched though what little I have left there and found my old transformer tech specs (and toys). ;)

I Found Myself

Even as a kid, I knew exactly which Transformer I was: Windcharger. You could just as easily substitute Contour for Windcharger and you will have me:

"Quick action equals quick victory."

CONTOUR is the fastest Autobot over short distances. Good in situations requiring fast, decisive action. Enthusiastic but impatient. Short attention span. Casts powerful magnetic field, which can attract or repel large metal objects. Smashes them at closer distances. These abilities use up tremendous energy. Often burns himself out due to carelessness.

Food???

So this is related to food (calories), because one of the things I've not written about before is how much I hate to eat. It is a waste of my time. The only reason I do it, is because I get sick and my stomach hurts if I don't. There are a few exceptions, but generally calories are fuel to me.

As a kid I learned that even robots need fuel. Energy comes in many forms. So with nobody to socialize with today, I almost forgot lunch. I quickly ran up and choose to eat green fuel today. I don't know why.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul